findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Insomnia

Every night at four

I startle awake,

like a doe sensing danger in the forest of my dreams.

Trees come up to charge me,

transform before my eyes

to endless reams of paper

unleashing lists in the dark:

invoices, accounting, due dates.

All their screeching pleas

reproachful looks

mouths gaping with urgency

like babes unfed.

How can I divide myself in enough parts to please them all?

 

I’ve read all the books

on expanding my brain and ensuring eternal happiness.

I breathe deeply and visualise,

think of colours, tastes and smells,

let my limbs grow lank and sleepy,

start leaving tasks in each room of  my memory mansion

but never get beyond the ground floor.

Then I panic

breathing shallow

heart flutters that extra wriggle

which tightens my abdomen.

I rush again and again through identical rooms

circling like an inept crow.

 

Too much to know

take in, remember,

too much to search, gather, understand.

Too much choice

yet nothing is new under the sun.

Nothing captures me, nothing remains.

Tomorrow the novelty will be submerged in fresh newness.

My voice surely too will drown in all that noise.

 

The fractal geometry of our lives

the ruthlessness of passing,

I feel maimed

dislocated from images and sounds.

 

Fragility poises for bare second on my finger

Then butterflies off

To a world of vulnerable memories.

 

My pain is not depth but the shallowness and width.

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Insomnia

  1. Oh my god, I know exactly how you feel. Hang in there, and keep calm. I won’t give any other advice because… as a fellow insomniac, I know exactly how annoying it is when somebody says, “Why, have you tried….?” And I want to say, “?!$£**””!!!???!” Thinking of you, and love the imagery in your poem. XX

  2. “Too much choice” – Indeed! I take 5-10 minutes EVERy time in 7-eleven to select a drink. That’s not right!

    “The fractal geometry of our lives” – Excellent phrase!
    ~ Regards, Dan

Do share your thoughts!

