findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Who Is It For?

I will be honest with you.  I started this blog without any thought that anybody would actually read it.  I only told two people about it (or that I was thinking about it).  It was more like an online diary, a place for experimentation, a means of holding myself accountable for writing every day.  I would not post every day, because some things take longer to write, but I would know if I was working or not.

It was to be a place of searing honesty.  Somewhere where I wouldn’t be able to hide behing my professional mask, my deadlines, my other multiple roles.  It was to be me vs. myself in the ring, two sumo wrestlers trying to outface each other. Only the opponent counted.

And then I discovered that I was being watched, that there are people reading this.  Complete strangers, some of them.  Who take the time to comment or ‘like’ my outpourings.  I had never dared share my writing before.  I had always been afraid of … being told that I can’t write, shouldn’t write, should stick to the day job etc. etc.  I feel raw as a newly hatched chick, I shiver a little in anticipation.  I am honoured and humbled.  Thank you, dear readers.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Who Is It For?

  1. Dear Marina,
    I discovered you on Cowbird where you were kind enough to “love” one of my stories. It turns out you’ve been living in my head and my heart. I have been told most of my life I have talent as a writer and most of my life I didi the aw shucks shuffle followed by some lame excuse that always justified my putting my ego ahead of my writing. Rejection was too awful to contemplate. Yet, living without being able to write was like holding my breath and waiting to turn blue. So I’ve been a closet writer/poet/journaler. Finally, at 65, I’ve realized what a gift talent of any kind is ( I never was a good receiver :)) and so I too started a blog that only one person knew about. It too was to encourage a daily writing habit which I know actually look forward to. Cowbird was a leap for me but such a satisfying one. There are so many amazing stories and such a diversity of expression that it is inspiring.
    I’ve been enjoying your blog and have been inspired by it as well as you Cowbird contributions. I’m glad you stepped out. I’m sure I’m only one of many who will benefit by that courage and commitment. Thanks

    • Thank you, Katie, it has likewise been a pleasure for me to discover your stories on Cowbird and your blog. I wish I could think of something cleverer to say than ‘It’s never too late to write or to discover your gift.’ But it is true. Well done for having the courage to explore and reflect, good luck on your journey!

  2. Wow, spell check would have been a good idea before hitting the send button!

  3. Nicci Cloke on said:

    Thanks so much for your comments on my cover and for thereby drawing my attention to your blog, which I will be following from now on. Keep sharing and don’t be afraid!

  4. Spelling, schmelling!

    As I have said many times. . . to get where you’re going requires getting and going oft without knowing where the going is getting or indeed where the getting is going in the first place . . .

    You, darling, must be free and loose . . .

    RR

  5. Free and loose indeed… I am letting the wings take root and the roots fly!

Do share your thoughts!

