findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Here Comes the Sun…shine Award!

Goodness knows, we could really do with some sunshine – especially as we have our very first  Sports Day at a French school this afternoon and it looks like it will be a complete washout!

Thank you to the lovely Joanne Phillips, who has nominated me for the Sunshine Award.  If you haven’t yet come across her blog A Writer’s Journey, I do recommend you read it for the down-to-earth, humorous description of writing and publishing.  She is currently profreading her first novel ‘Can’t Live Without’, yet somehow still manages to find time to read and respond to blog posts and be really encouraging to newbies.

I’ve also been trying to find out the source for this blog award, but have to admit defeat.  Apparently, it is designed to celebrate those bloggers whose positive and creative spirit inspire you.  There is also some disagreement on what exactly you need to do in order to be the proud possessor of this badge of distinction on your blogsite, but I will follow Joanne’s guidelines:

  • Write five things about yourself
  • Include the award’s logo in a post
  • Nominate 5 other bloggers
  • Link to your nominees
  • Link the person who nominated you

Now, confession time:

I hate writing things about myself.  I have created a pseudonym for myself so that I don’t have to give too much away about myself.  I believe that one’s books or poems or creations or blog posts are revealing enough of my inner life.  And the outer one doesn’t really matter that much at all.  But I get it, the curiosity to know more about a person we are interacting with, especially at a distance.  Or to find out more about what moves an artist, (not that I am putting myself into that category!), what influences they might have had – I’ve devoured even the most prurient stuff about Sylvia Plath.  Back when I was a teenager, when I fancied myself like her.  Now I just hope that I am NOT like her!

So here are five random and little known facts about me:

Favourite film: Terry Gilliam’s ‘Brazil’ (although slightly unnerving that the Far Right in the US also like this film – maybe they think it’s a documentary?)

Favourite book: ‘The Great Gatsby’ or Jane Austen’s ‘Persuasion’, can never quite limit myself to just one

Most annoying and overused expression: ‘Now that I think about it…’

What makes me angry: Rudeness, although lack of caring under a veneer of politeness is just as bad

Most embarassing childhood outfit: I used to dress up like Madonna in ‘Desperately Seeking Susan’, cutting the fingers off my gloves and the feet off my tights.

And here are my gorgeous five nominees, who brighten up my day whenever I read their blogs:

Nicky Wells – Romance that Rocks Your World – for being the humorous, energetic, romantic person that she is, which shines through in her books and blog posts

A Year of Reading the World – this is such an inspirational and mammoth project, each new post makes me discover a world of possibility

Holly Anne – HollyAnne Gets Poetic – her poems make me giggle, give me goosebumps or make me think – a winning combination!

Claire – Word by Word - how can I not be inspired by a fellow expat writer based in France? However, she lives in the sunnier south of  France, so she can bring some sunshine in my life!

Corey Booth – Clown Ponders - can he really be only 20 years old?  He works, he blogs, he writes poetry and he brings web-based poets together with his weekly poetry challenge – he’s an amazing guy – and no, I’m not flattering him because I am taking part in this week’s challenge (he does not have the casting vote anyway).

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Here Comes the Sun…shine Award!

  1. Well done Marina – well deserved – and some great blogs for me to look at, thank you :)

  2. Congrats to you! I’ve been reading your poetry from the last month, and I truly enjoy it.
    Doesn’t Gatsby get better as you age? I love it more and more now. When I was a teenager, that was a different story.

  3. Marina – thank you very much for thinking of me. You are lovely. Oh and also for such a golden recommendation – wow! xx

  4. Marina, thank you so much for passing the sunshine award on to me and for your glowing endorsement. I’m lucky enough to be able to put your five secret things into perspective, and you make me smile. You’re definitely very adept at spreading the sunshine, too! I will take the award up but things are a bit frantic at the moment–more offline, perhaps, but you know what’s going on–and so it might take me a little while. Thanks again, though: I truly am honoured!!!x

  5. How lovely for you. Can’t wait to check out your nominees.

  6. Congratulations on the award, your poetry is full of light and illumination, so the perfect acknowledgement. Thank you for passing it on and sharing a little more of yourself, I know the feeling, the first award I received forced me to step outside the zone, not such a bad thing with hindsight, as we discover that what we write has a certain stickiness and attracts those who appreciate the offering.

    Delighted to have come across your blog and become a follower. And lovely to know we share more than a love of a words. Bonne continaution.

    • You are so kind! I’m far more comfortable talking about myself in my day job, but when it comes to writing, I would have like to remain … enigmatic.

  7. Pingback: Beautiful, Versatile, Sunshine! | Romance That Rocks Your World!

  8. Finally ready to accept my award, thanks! http://wp.me/p1HzVM-nQ

Do share your thoughts!

