findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Writing Exercise

This was a 5 minute writing exercise that I was set in a writing group, based on a photo prompt.  I’ve been unable to find this picture again, so you will have to take my word for it: it was a beautiful black-and-white photograph of a Cuban woman in white traditional dress, smoking a cigar, looking out of the window.  She is flashing an insolent smile straight at the camera.  Some makeshift flowerpots are teetering precariously on her windowsill.

The thyme is doing well this year.  Grown all over, in a hurry like a virgin about to be married, all ready to jump into the nearest pot.  Majoram, now that was a tricky one, hasn’t sprung the smallest green shoot. Rowdy waste of time. But who said aloe vera would never make it in a tin? Just bore’em and stuff’em, I always say.  Look at it now: it’s tall, it’s spiky, it sucks up my smoke like a greedy suitor.

Speaking of suitors, it’s nearly time for him to pass by again for the day.  He can’t keep away.  He thinks he’s so irresistable in his shuffling walk-by, with his fancy hat, his spit-polished shoes, his thin moustache. I’m sure he can dance and gaze into my eyes for days.  All he needs is a little feeding, watering, to grow into the man he could become. Do me proud, like my plants, every day.

This time there will be a pause in his shuffle.  This time he will look up. And learn to linger.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Writing Exercise

  1. This was good. I could see the picture in my mind while I was reading the prose.

  2. Daniela on said:

    You painted the portrait so well here. I enjoyed it.
    Thank you
    Daniela

  3. ThreeKingsBooks on said:

    Good!

  4. Interesting exercise. The idea that pictures speak a thousand words, put into practice.
    Your words were great, and I ended up seeing more than just the picture you described. Sweet.

  5. Beautiful writing. Yours is the kind of blog I enjoy – will follow you!

    • Thank you, Margaret, for finding my blog and thus allowing me to discover yours. You write beautifully and I look forward to many good exchanges of ideas with you!

Do share your thoughts!

