findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

The Art of Science

When they uncovered the last of the bones

they placed them so gently

alongside the rest,

and brushed with soft caresses

the mould blooming in cavernous skulls.

 

When they found paths of eerie beauty

where particles had met

and shuddered to a halt,

they held up mirrors of foggy fascination

to conjure up bold dances to music overload.

 

When the lab mice get injected

to thrill to slightest sound,

vibrate in nervous tension,

they travel through synapses at speeds you cannot measure -

those words blushing with excitement at waking up on stage.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “The Art of Science

  1. I really do like the way you’ve used the art of poetry to talk about the scientific process here! I am impressed.

    • Thank you (and thanks for reading it and commenting) – I am flattered. There has always been a battle within me between my scientific inclinations and my creative ones.

      • I think that’s a battle for me too actually. I have a research background (science) but I write crime fiction (creative). Not an easy thing and I’d never be able to weave them together as you do with this poem.

  2. Scientists ARE so romantic. Loved this.

  3. I like this immensely. Particularly the idea of the “last of the bones” being put with hte rest… Leave you wondering how they were separated. And identified as belonging. Also the mice…

  4. I’m with Margot–impressed you used poetry to describe scientific processes. One thing I didn’t understand though, the mice? What were you referring to there? I also noticed how you contrasted the careful way scientists treat bones and the paths of eerie beauty where particles had met (CERN, LHC??), as compared to the mice who are “injected.” Did you do that on purpose?

    • Yes, I’ve got friends who are immunologists/neuroscientists and they work with lab mice, have to inject them with all kinds of substances or stress them out (to observe their reactions). Increasingly, they too feel torn about this, and I notice their wish to distance themselves from this activity. Which is why it’s the only verse that doesn’t begin with ‘they’, the scientists. Well spotted!

  5. How do you write like this? It’s amazing. I rarely comment, Marina, as you know, because I don’t really understand poetry – but I love it! Your use of language is astonishing. Humbled me xxx

Do share your thoughts!

