findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

And if all else fails…

I was passing through the charming town of Chambéry earlier today and I saw this shop front, so I had to share this with you.  This shop is for a Public/Official Writer.  The shop is called ‘The Ear and the Quill’ and we are assured that the shopowner is a certified Public Writer and a member of the Academy of Public Writers.  Sadly, the shop was closed on a Monday, so I could not go in and ask what precisely he or she writes, and for whom.

So, if all my writing and publishing efforts fail, nice to know there is still a career option available for me.  I just hope it doesn’t involve calligraphy (or too much French grammar)!

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “And if all else fails…

  1. Marina Sofia – Oh, so this is how to get a book published! Now I understand! ;-)

  2. I always like options!

  3. Oh, that’s neat. If you find out what he actually writes, come back and let us know. I’m curious. And I like options too. :)

    • I’ve just searched the French websites for more information and it appears to be indeed writing services for those who do not know how to write. Nowadays, they are also well-qualified to help with administrative procedures, which are complicated and written in very quaint flowery language in France.
      So maybe not a career option for me after all, as I hate all this kind of stuff!

  4. At a nearby farmer’s market, there’s a stall where a man sits with a typewriter. For a small fee, he’ll write you a poem on demand. You give him a theme and off he goes. If I could do that, I would.

  5. Sisyphus47 on said:

    I am amazed: I knew the profession existed of old, but had no idea it was still going… this links back to the scribes of the antiquity…

  6. Excellent Marina – we’ll all know where to go when our muse is missing! heh-heh :)

  7. Jeannie on said:

    a shop like they used to have for letter writers maybe? Hmmm! This sounds intriguing. If you don’t like what they do maybe you could one day do something similar but a different niche. I like the idea of it anyway!

  8. This is simply great! I would love to do that … imagine the possibilities!

  9. How cool is that? We need that place in Minneapolis. Getting tired of Starbucks.

  10. I have always wanted to own a little store front office, looking just like this, where I could set up my writing office. This made me totally think of that. :-)

Do share your thoughts!

