findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

The Poem of Laughter and Forgetting

How do I forget thee?

Let me count the ways…

 

I forget when I laugh over silly accents, when I flirt

and linger, reflected in others’ eyes.

I forget when I cry over details misremembered, whispers misquoted,

each one erring in your favour, building a love

heroic out of daily fatigue.

I forget how distance each day can edge a wrinkle,

how dust will add each layer, a little more complete.

 

I forget your voice, your smell just after kissing,

the way you wear your hat

and that you never sipped tea with me.

But I can still recall and will forever savour

the feelings you awakened and nourished in me.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “The Poem of Laughter and Forgetting

  1. Absolutely love this and agree – its the little, mundane simple things that carve the deepest valleys in memory.

  2. What a lovely poem! It evokes so effectively the things that we remember about the ones we’ve loved. There’s just the right note of bittersweet here.

    • Is it just me – I seem to remember more good things than bad about people I have loved and lost… even if the reality was quite different.

      • Marina Sofia – I don’t think it’s just you. I think a lot of us are like that. We remember the good things about people we’ve loved. It is I think human nature.

      • Marina Sofia and Margot, I do this too. Remember the good. Even from those who have hurt me.
        Marina, what a gentle spirit you are. This poem, too, is beautiful.

  3. This one makes me feel sad, Marina …

  4. This really hits home, Marina. I always wonder when a relationship ends, where does the love go? Your poem speaks to that internal turmoil. Well done :))

  5. Beautiful and true. This one speaks directly to my heart …

  6. Pingback: The Gargie Award « Perplexing Thoughts

  7. Hi Marina, I’ve nominated your blog for the Gargie Award. For more info. please check,

    http://amidereve.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/the-gargie-award/

    I hope you’re doing well!

Do share your thoughts!

