findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Home and Marketplace

Thank you all for bearing with me while I have been away.  I loved reading all of your comments last night, when I returned from holiday, apologies for not replying to each one of you personally.  I was touched that my blog has not been completely forgotten or abandoned while I have been missing in action.  Slowly, gradually, I will catch up with all of you and what you have written in the meantime.

In other news though… There is a Romanian saying: ‘What you calculate at home does not match what you calculate at the marketplace’.  In other words, no matter how much you attempt to plan things just so, life and external circumstances have a habit of upsetting your apple-cart.  And my particular apple-cart was to have a revised version of my novel finished by the end of this month.

Did I have the distraction of Internet and social media?  No.  Did I spend lots of time at the beach or clubbing or meeting friends, in other words on social distraction? No.  Did I have the children constantly under my feet demanding my attention? No.  Did I have to worry about cooking and housekeeping? No.

With all of the above excuses consigned to the rubbish bin, did I work hard on editing my novel? Errr… no!

Tick tock, a life is passing…

Whose life?

A dozen wasted days of summer,

a dozen prisons of the mind.

Not much, you say, middle-class suffering

of course.

But over the years –  300 days when I could have birthed meaning,

done something worthwhile,

made things matter.

Nearly a year of living dangerously.

Not

Nearly a life.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Home and Marketplace

  1. Ah … but look at the poetry that’s come out of it ~ you were missed ~ more to the point, did you enjoy your break?

  2. Marina Sofia – So lovely to have you back – I did miss you! And your poem really gets at the feeling of time passing far too quickly…

    • Actually, it seemed to be passing excruciatingly slowly while I was on holiday – mainly because I could not do the things I wanted to do. Too slowly, too quickly… I just wish time would be more flexible!

  3. Oh, we’ve all been there… coulda, woulda, shoulda… ;) But hey, sometimes a bit of rest is essential, so don’t beat yourself up.
    Nice to see you back. :)

  4. Welcome back! Your poem proves that procrastination is often a good thing!

    • I wish – but I was too frustrated to write good poetry. I think you need to wait for the churn of lava to cool down to write anything worthwhile. Thank you for your welcome, though!

  5. eclecticnomad on said:

    Glad to have you back and writing again. Missed you!

Do share your thoughts!

