findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Fun on Friday: Writers’ Studies

If you don’t know me by now… you should know that I have a bit of a fixation with property.  Not in the sense of buying or selling or owning more than one house (well, the bank owns that one, but you know what I mean). Just that I am the kind of person who always picks up estate agents’ brochures in any picturesque town I happen to be passing through…  Or peer in at shutterless or curtainless windows when I go for evening walks… Or buy interior design magazines in languages I don’t even understand, because I can look at the pictures for ages…

And of course my favourite room in a house is the study or library or writer’s bolthole.  So here are some gorgeous ones to brighten up our weekend!

These first four images are courtesy of http://www.decoist.com/.

Study

Gillian Slovo’s study, courtesy of The Guardian’s series on Writers’ Rooms.

Mikael Kennedy, courtesy of  the project  An Afternoon With

Justin Cartwright, courtesy of The Guardian’s series on Writers’ Rooms. Gotta love a sofa in the study!

I really tried to take a picture of my own study for comparison, but I’m afraid it is too long and narrow to fit in!

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “Fun on Friday: Writers’ Studies

  1. I love all these. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Ooooh, they are yummy :)

  3. These are great – I’m very jealous of some of them. You can see a little bit of my office in the Vlog, but you can’t see that there’s a bed in it – for when it all gets a bit too much and I just have to lie down ;) xx

  4. Marina Sofia – Oh, I really want that third one – such clean lines and that lovely sense of space. You do deliver, right? ;-)

  5. They are lovely and such a variety but I couldn’t write in any of them. I need a bright window to fuel my thoughts.

  6. Oh, the first four are simply too showy. There’s no evidence of actual work in there, no creativity. Nice rooms and all but I couldn’t work in them. Where are the pinboards? The sticky notes? The piles of paper? Mikael Kennedy is where I’d be. My own office? Oh, I believe there’s a post with pics coming up as part of my blogtour, so I won’t spoil the fun. Suffice it to say its utilitarian, brown and green (not my choice, it’s how it was when we got here), full of paper and ordered chaos. I’m sure you’d feel right at home here, Marina, old office habits die hard and I’m confident you’d know this was my space… Lovely post, thank you!

    • Well, you may remember my rather OCD tidy desk policy… I can’t work in too much of a clutter, so the emptier style of the first two do appeal. Except I would fill the shelves with books rather than decorations. Look forward to seeing pics of your own space!

  7. Wicked fun, thank you for this post! I love M. Kennedy’s space (and his work) for the maps, document boxes, and the hanging paned window. Would love to see pics of your work space, too.

    • Thank you for reading and commenting! His space does seem to be very well adapted to his work, doesn’t it? As for my work space, believe me, I tried from all angles, but it was impossible to fit more than a shelf or a corner of a desk in each frame.

  8. They’re all gorgeous. I love looking at modern interior design but I prefer living in older styles. My favourite is the last picture.

  9. The funny thing is that I have three writing spaces- a University office, a home office, and a little nook in the basement- but I often end up writing in a coffee shop, or at the library.

    But I do love these spaces.

    Tom

  10. I do the same thing! My husband thinks it’s odd. Love the first one the most. So feminine and cozy. Although it would be nice if it had some books around like some of the others.

  11. I wish I had a space. I used to have a writing chair but the girls needed their own rooms so now I write in bed. Nothing cool (or even healthy) about that.

Do share your thoughts!

