findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Top Reads for October

 

 

It’s been a slow month in reading terms for me (we won’t even discuss how slow it has been in writing terms…). And a few of the books have been rather a let-down. So here is my meagre collection of books (there are links to ones I have reviewed on the Crime Fiction Lover website):

 

1) Adrian Magson: Death on the Pont Noir

 

 

 

2) Amélie Nothomb: Ni d’Eve, ni d’Adam – the Japanese setting intrigued me, but I found the book self-indulgent and the love story a little trite

 

3) S.J. Watson: Before I Go to Sleep – I had such high expectations of this one (there had been such a buzz around it and even the shop assistant wrapping it up for me said she had found it creepy and exciting).  So, perhaps it was inevitable that I should be disappointed.  The memory-loss premise is an interesting one, but I guessed the set-up quite early on, which rather spoilt the rest of the story for me.

 

4) Amanda Egan: Diary of a Mummy Misfit – bubbly fun – handbags at dawn at the schoolgates!  But also a spot-on critique of the snobbery and competitiveness of private schools.

 

5) Sarah Dobbs: Killing Daniel

 

6) Alan Bennett: The Uncommon Reader - a delightful romp about the Queen descending into a mad passion for reading (actually, it does have the occasional ring of truth to it!). My favourite quote from that is when the Queen buttonholes the French president to ask him about Jean Genet:

 

‘Homosexual and jailbird, was he nevertheless as bad as he was painted? Or, more to the point, [...] was he as good?’

Unbriefed on the subject of the glabrous playwright and novelist, the president looked wildly about for his minister of culture. But she was being addressed by the Archbishop of Canterbury.

[...] The president put down his spoon.  It was going to be a long evening.

 

7) Véronique Olmi: Un si bel avenir – not at all on a par with the riveting (if emotionally scarring) ‘Bord de mer’. This story of an ageing actress and anxious wife and mother, or even of female friendship, has been done so much better elsewhere.

 

8) Agence Hardy Bandes dessinées - I love the fact that there are so many graphic novels for grown-ups in France. This series is crime fiction, about a private detective agency set up by a glamorous widow, Edith Hardy, in Paris in the 1950s.  Beautiful recreation of very precise locations and period detail – a joy to read!

 

And my Top Pick of the month? Death on the Pont Noir – I adore the setting in a village in the Picardie region of France in the 1960s and am a little in love with Inspector Lucas Rocco.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Top Reads for October

  1. Marina Sofia – I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed in some of your reads. I’ve had that happen too. I’m glad you found at least a few to like, and thanks for the recommendation of the Magson. I’ll have to give that a try.

  2. Thank you, Marina, for the additional reading possibilities. Also, thank you for the nomination. Like you, I’m crazy busy these days. If I don’t get to it soon, please know that I am flattered and appreciative of your acknowedgment. I hope to get time to visit blogs more often rather than nose to the grindstone/fingers to the keyboard all the time.

  3. I haven’t read any Adrian Magson but I would like to try a book sometime. I enjoyed reading BIGTS but think it had been hyped too much really. We all have mixed reading months – fingers crossed for November!

  4. I enjoyed Before I Go To Sleep, even though I did guess what was happening. I thought it was a fresh idea.

    I will check out the Adrian Magson book. Thank you. I can’t believe you call that a slow reading month though!

Do share your thoughts!

