findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

When I Won the Booker Prize

OK, I admit: ever so slightly misleading title, but I couldn’t resist the pun!  No, it’s not the Booker Prize I am talking about, but a blogging award that the criminally wonderful Pat Wood kindly bequeathed to me. Please visit Pat’s funny blog – you will find something there to love, of that I’m sure!

So this Booker is for those who refuse to live in the real world. Says it all, really.  But alas, these past few months I’ve had to live for far too long in the real world.

The guidelines are simple, if reductionist: I have to pick my five favourite books of all time and then say what I am currently reading.  I always struggle with picking ‘favourites’ – it’s like having to say which of my children I love most.  But here’s an attempt:

1) The Great Gatsby (and I wax on about it at length here)

2) Jane Austen’s Persuasion – it even managed to convert Savidge Reads

3) Shakespeare: ‘The Tempest’ – does that count?  Well, if it doesn’t, I would publish it in a separate volume with ‘Twelfth Night’, ‘Midsummer Night’s Dream’ and ‘Macbeth’, entitling it ‘Must Read Shakespeare’.  But ‘The Tempest’ is my favourite.

4) Mishima Yukio: The Temple of the Golden Pavilion – what not to do when beauty and perfection eludes you

5) I.L. Caragiale: Plays and Sketches – virtually unknown outside Romania, he is one of the funniest and freshest voices of the 19th century

What am I reading now?  Well, just in case you thought the above choices were a bit too ambitious, you will be relieved to hear that the book I am going to share my bedtime with is… another installment from Lemony Snicket‘s brilliant Series of Unfortunate Events.  I first discovered the series a few years ago when I was selecting a present for a young niece.  The niece has moved on to other literature since, but I still treat myself to these tongue-in-cheek adventure stories.  I am hoping that my children will share my affection for them too (although so far their response to Famous Five and Secret Seven has been somewhat disappointing, to say the least).

But enough nattering!  Who are my nominees for this worthy (and clearly wordy) award?

The all-singing, all-writing wonder Nicky Wells from Romance that Rocks Your World!

Sensitive writer and translator Michelle Bailat Jones

Translator, poet, philosopher of the everyday, the wonderful Quirina at The Mind’s Sky

Natalia Sylvester, for being so sweetly herself !

And, just in case you think I am neglecting men, I also invite Sisyphus47 to join in

The truth is, of course, I am just really nosey, curious to see what they choose as their favourite books!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “When I Won the Booker Prize

  1. Marina Sofia – Oh, those are wonderful choices! I’ll have to check out your other nominees and see what they choose.

    • And not a single crime novel… The truth is that although I love crime fiction, there are few of them that I would return to again and again (the Martin Beck series perhaps, Michael Dibdin’s Zen series and a couple of others). Perhaps the fact that there are more of them in the same series satiates your hunger!

  2. LOL – great blog title! And who knows … perhaps one day …

  3. Thank you so much – this is fun. I may just spend the rest of my morning deliberating over choices (as you say, it always feels impossible to choose favorites!). And I love that you picked Persuasion – it is also one of my favorites. (Although I think I love Northanger Abbey just as much.) And I don’t know Caragiale, so am heading off to discover that right away!

    • Oh, please do, I’d love to read the results of your deliberations! At the same time, I am shocked I have left out such favourites as Kafka, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys…

  4. Love A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Great Gatsby. Congrats … and I must take a look at your Gatsby post.

  5. Sisyphus47 on said:

    I am touched dear friend :) … and I never thought of myself as a “bookish” type!! Thank you so much and congratulations :)

  6. Oh, intriguing choices! I’m totally with you on Lemony Snicket and I adore the Zen books (although I struggled with the televised version). Congratulations on your BOOKER and thank you for thinking of me. Whoop! Will have to get my thinking hat on. Awesome ~ I shall go singing and dancing! :-)

  7. Thanks so much for choosing me and for the lovely introduction to other bloggers! I love that you’re reading A Series of Unfortunate Events and that you originally picked it out for a niece. I just became an aunt 3 weeks ago and have been daydreaming about the books I’ll introduce my niece to for months! I will definitely be starting with Roald Dahl (Matilda is actually one of my favorite books of all time).

  8. Oh, dear Marina, your literary choices are fabulous. I have not read one of them (yet), but admire you for having read them. Your last choice, I. L. Caragiale sounds very intriguing indeed. And I am most touched indeed that you should choose my blog for this award, and you know what, I have given into your temptation and will post this award on my blog as soon as I get a moment out of this medical mill, one which included a little operation, and then just to give me the opportunity to develop my character a bit more (am I sounding like a protagonist?), my son had to break his arm at school last week, and then my daughter got some mysterious 24 hour virus thing, which I have now. Lots of love, Q xx

  9. Oh Hell I come nowhere near your favourite books.Alas I discovered SciFi as a child and lost myself to John Beynon,Arthur C Clarke,Isaac Asimov and Robert Heinlein. Later I found myself exploring Spitfires with Alex Henshaw,the skies over ww1 France with Louis Strange and the world of the U boat with Herbert Werner.

    • And very good choices they are too! I don’t think anyone should be ashamed of reading genre fiction (I read crime most of the time). I love Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke. And, despite their length, I do like Iain M. Banks’ Culture novels.
      I remember being very impressed by the film Das Boot as a child and then reading the book. Good books are good books, good stories well told no matter what cover they are lurking under or where they are shelved in bookshops and libraries.
      Thank you for taking the time to comment – I really appreciate that! Instead of just thinking ‘snotty little literary snob’!

  10. Pingback: Booker? – Nah, can’t be, or can it? « Ash N. Finn

Do share your thoughts!

