findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Cautious

pills-bottles-photoYou fear meningitis with each stiffening joint.

You understand colitis at its intricate extreme.

Tachycardia is no stranger to your medicated bliss,

doctors are your allies, your mirrors and your envy.

Advice you dispense freely, with countless cups of tea,

lashings of lemon and honey to soothe throats.

So prudent, so careful

you inch your way across

the very same finishing line

that others flash on by.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Cautious

  1. Blimey! What a lot of pills. I’m afraid I’m the other way round. I live in blatant disregard for any ailments and my cure-all is ibuprofen. (Obviously I’m slightly more paranoid on the kids’ behalf!). Thus the few times I’ve been seriously ill, I got really caught out in a bad way. But I’m still here to tell the tale, LOL! Great poem, though, thank you for sharing!

    • I’m also a great believer in the ‘carry on regardless’ school of thought. Mind you, most of the time I don’t have a choice! And yes, as you say, when illness does strike, it strikes pretty badly…

  2. Whoo-hoo. Been there, not with the medication, but with the imaginings. And I’m sold on lemon/honey water, steaming up from the mug. Oh, and garden herbs instead of those pills!

  3. Marina Sofia – Oh, what a clear and eloquent statement on caution. Like everything else, caution is best in moderation. Safety is one thing; frozen into immobility is another…

Do share your thoughts!

