findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Something Old, Something New…

Now that the Chinese government has told us in NO UNCERTAIN TERMS that the world is not going to end on the 21st of December, I can safely plan my ‘summary of just 2012′ blog post. Rather than having to summarise the whole history of Earth and human beings.

Out with the old, in with the new is what always comes to mind as the year changes.  So I shall follow the good old wedding traditions and find something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue to list as my highlights for the year 2012.

1) Old

I have rediscovered my pleasure for writing this year, especially for reading and writing poetry, which I haven’t done since high school.  Writing is an old passion of mine, but I have been very clever at avoiding it (at least in its fully creative guise) over the past decade or more.  So, welcome back, old friend, sit down and tarry a while.  It’s such a pleasure to have you here with me!

2)  New

Joining the online community through blogging and book reviewing and connecting with other, much better writers than myself.  There is so much to learn here, so much to enjoy, especially on storytelling sites such as Cowbird,  that I am afraid I am spending far too much time reading other people’s work and not concentrating nearly enough on my own. I have also discovered a genuine community and mutual support system here, which was unexpected and moving.

3) Borrowed

I will borrow my own review of the Top 5 Crime Reads of my year from over at Crime Fiction Lover. But while you’re there, you may want to check some of the other Top 5 picks by my fellow reviewers.  They are all very knowledgeable about crime (fiction, of course). I have certainly added substantially to my already formidable TBR mountain.

4) Blue

No, I am not going to finish on a sad note, about what has made me blue this year.  Instead, since blue is my favourite colour, I will tell you about some of my best discoveries this year. I was going to do it in images, but this antiquated desktop can’t seem to cope with that.

- The beauties of France: its settings, its history, its (contemporary, rather than what I read in school) literature

- Peirene Press – beautiful editions of world literature in translation (with a pronounced Teutonic flavour), as well as an interesting business model based on subscription and community-building

- There is more to skiing than racing madly downhill – I have also learnt cross-country skiing and snow-shoeing this year

- That maybe I do need a cat to complete my happiness after all. We befriended a friend’s cat at the weekend and now I want one just like her!

- Online reading challenges.  I intend to participate in a couple this coming year: Translation Reading Challenge (particularly from cultures that I know next to nothing about) hosted by Curiosity Killed the Bookworm and the Global Reading Challenge, to be hosted by Mysteries in Paradise.

So, what have been your highlights this year? And what do you intend to keep on doing in the New Year, or what do you intend to start afresh?

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Something Old, Something New…

  1. So pleased to know we don’t have to start looking over our shoulders on Dec 20. I’ve too much left to do, and my TBR pile–while not embracing crime fiction–beckons.

    I’m glad this past year has seen poems from you. They have enriched my life. Thank you.

    For me, it’s been a year of sadness at the death of a friend, of rejoicing at the providence of God. This year has seen me working on fun stories for others and old stories of my own. I’ve done a happy dance when two of those oldies found a home at boutique publishers, when we reclaimed Sea Venture from dirt-dweller status and splashed about on board again, when being on the water brought laughter to my mama. It’s been a glorious year of loving and laughing and watching our world expand.

    I’m thankful for new friends, among whom I now count you, MarinaSofia. May 2013 open even more doors for you in your writing and in your life.

  2. Marina Sofia – I love this perspective. Thanks especially for sharing some of the things you’ve discovered this year. Interesting isn’t it how the end of the year tends to put us in a reflective mood. And this is a lovely way to think about it.

  3. Sisyphus47 on said:

    Love both old and new! :) Yes: nordic skiing is great! We think one of the best exercise ever… Please keep writing! x

  4. Pingback: Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays! | Creative Flux

Do share your thoughts!

