findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

On Chasing Perfectionism

I always have to fight those perfectionist tendencies in myself (and am now horrified to find them emerging in my older son as well).  It certainly does not make for a contented, blissful existence!  So here are some quotes to remind me:

Have no fear of perfection: you will never reach it. (Salvador Dali)

Pleasure in what you do puts perfection in your work. (Aristotle)

When all the details fit in perfectly, there is probably something wrong with the story. (Charles Baxter)

The maxim ‘Nothing prevails but perfection’ may be spelled PARALYSIS. (Winston Churchill)

Just because nobody complains doesn’t mean that all parachutes are perfect. (Benny Hill)

Easier copied out than digested, I know!Image

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “On Chasing Perfectionism

  1. I’m a perfectionist. Perfectionism is a laudable goal. However, I’m also a pragmatist and I live by the 80/20 rule. Perfectionism can totally break you otherwise in my humble opinion. PLUS it’s entirely subjective. Great food for thought.

  2. Marina Sofia – What a good and important reminder. So of ten we’re so worried about being perfect that we forget to really live. Thanks for those wonderful quotes to help us remember that we’re not supposed to be perfect.

  3. I fight that demon myself. My latest defense tactic has been very effective–when I find myself wanting to make something perfect that really isn’t worth the time and effort, I let it be and remind myself that a lesson lies in its imperfection.

  4. This is a timely lesson for me this morning, Marina. Thank you.

  5. perfection is such a trap… i love the dali quote…

Do share your thoughts!

