findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

If Only

Unusually for me, a poem that rhymes, for the Open Link Night at dVerse Poets PubEven more unusually, this is composed on the road, in a hotel room, while travelling on business. Finding words for poetry when you are in business mode is like digging for truffles with an ancient, half-blind pig with a severe head-cold.

heather

If you gather heather daily,

pluck one out for me.

Lay it softly on my dreamscape,

let its scent swoop me free.

 

If you walk the coastal pathway,

battle on its up,

harness west wind, chill the longing,

whirl the storms in a cup.

 

If you stop too soon, too often,

doubts creep in, seduce.

So race pulses, flash the radars,

cut down, cut out, reduce.

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “If Only

  1. A beautiful, strong, and confident poem.

  2. I like the Victorian feel of this poem. So often, at readings, etc., I hear slam verse. So this feels fresh.

    • That’s because I wouldn’t know slam verse if it hit me (pardon the pun!). I am embarassed to admit just how unfamiliar I am with the more modern poetry forms.

  3. Very evocative and expressive, there is tinge of sadness or even doubt somewhere too!

  4. Lovely! Great imagery!

  5. What a lovely and evocative way to paint this picture…

  6. smiles….really like that opening stanza….the scenting of your own life in asking them to pluck some for you…also, whirl the storms in a cup….is a very cool thought

  7. Love fields of heather. Very evocative. Thank you!

  8. RL King on said:

    I love the idea, of savouring something with another not present in mind. We all do that don’t we? Beautiful.

    • Thanks for visiting and commenting. I always find a joyous landscape, scent, memory is so much nicer when you have someone to share it with. And yet, when I am together with someone, I find I often miss the essence.

  9. i like the heather part esp. with the scent tickling my nose now…i love writing while on the road, in planes, airports, hotel lobbies…enjoy your business trip..smiles

  10. Lovely! And I like much the rhythm :)

  11. I like the first verse especially – I agree, this has a (late?) Victorian, romantic and contemplative feel to it, though a very modern ending.

  12. I love the instructions in this, and that second stanza.. Well done!

  13. I like the flow in this …maybe rhythm is the new slam!!!

Do share your thoughts!

