findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

All the Possibilities in the World…

San Diego City College Learing Recource City r...

San Diego City College Learing Recource City retrieve a book (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It doesn’t happen often anymore.  Yet I need it, it’s like a tonic.

I now read so many books for reviewing purposes, or for my reading challenges, that I don’t often have this luxury.  But I should occasionally escape the tyranny of my TBR list and do this more often.

Besides, I usually have two or three books on the go at the same time, so it’s not possible.  But why not?

What am I talking about?

The hiatus.  The pause.  That wonderful moment when you finish the pile of books on your night-table and stop.  To breathe.  To ponder.  To contemplate that world of endless possibilities.  What am I in the mood for next?  What new treasure will I discover, what old favourite will I pursue?  Everything is within our grasp…

O brave new world, that has such writers in it!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “All the Possibilities in the World…

  1. I know just what you mean, Marina Sofia! What a pleasure to just contemplate what one wants to read next…

  2. Ah, yes. So much fun. That moment of lingering over the last page, of sighing, replete and happy. And then pausing to consider whether to pick up another or wait while that digests…

  3. I’m in this pause right now, in between books that I read either for reviewing purposes or for work, and it’s like this wonderful breath of fresh air. What will I read next??? I think, especially for us writers who are constantly reading, and often with an agenda (research, or a friend’s book, or for an interview, etc.) it’s vitally important to take a moment and select a book simply for pleasure.

    • Serendipity is so necessary at times and so good for the creative soul. That’s why I love open-stack libraries – because you never know what random masterpieces you might come across. Thank you for your perfect comment!

  4. A beautiful moment indeed.

Do share your thoughts!

