findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Improvisations

en.wikipedia.org

en.wikipedia.org

What am I passionate about?  ‘So many things’ is the blithe answer that trips so lightly off my tongue.  But is it really passion to the highest degree, do I know what I am talking about?

Is it passion which absorbs and consumes, sucks you in and leaves you breathless?  Is it passion leaving you craving for more filling you with love and energy and laughter, giddifying you with joy?

No.  It is a random collection, a hodge-podge. Smattering of ideas picked up hither and thither, views jostling by insights, feelings I momentarily try on like clothes in a shop.

I am such a magpie.  All that sparkles is my gold.  One shimmer, one sparkle and I’m there in a flash, pecking and investigating, cooing over its coolness. Pretty shiny, I grasp, pull out and clutch.  But then the glimmer reappears elsewhere and my attention is instantly diverted.  Still I hover, still I swoop, digging for treasure in the mud, believing I am passionate about everyone and everything.  When in fact I am anything but a passionate torrent sweeping aside everything in its path.  Instead, I remain the meandering little stream, pooling up in shallow banks, excited by nought so much as fools’ display.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Improvisations

  1. MarnaSofia – What an eloquent way to describe your interest in life and your keen observation!

  2. Such a beautiful description.

  3. I LOVE the way you describe yourself as a magpie :)

    xx

  4. nice…i like the trying feelings on like clothes and find the one that fits.. i think it’s good to try different things, different styles and see where our talents are and what we like to do.. the magpie made me smile…

Do share your thoughts!

