findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Precision Forever Eludes Us

When I swerve to pounce

I know! I am sure! I trap it with a single clasp!

Harvest-full  my hands are, with precious, rarest cargo.

Yet when I open them, they dangle

bereft and bare.

 

When I nail it on the board for spread-eagled scrutiny,

its beating heart flutters elsewhere.

Missing the target, pinpricks will render

Superficial shrills into confetti thrills.

No capture, falling,  F

all

ing

Quick shake-off -

nothing but dust -

back in ring to entice and encircle

voluptuous forevers and nevers,

untamed, unbowed, unrepentant.

 

I always fail.

Is there valour in trying?

Defeat feels anything but…

 

Next time -

always next time -

the vision will be luminous.

Sounds will surge forth, perfectly aligned.

Until then…

 

Here’s to the missing.

goliathus.cz

It is Open Link Night over at dVerse Poets Pub – and have they got something to celebrate! An anthology of some of the best works of the pub regulars is now available on Kindle and in paperback. Much drinking, merry-making and reciting of poetry will be involved, so do join us there!

Single Post Navigation

34 thoughts on “Precision Forever Eludes Us

  1. Oh, wow…you nailed this…right on! Beautiful write…with a kind of breathless quality…A capture in your poetry, at least. :))

  2. It’s always those fleeting ideas, moments, beautiful visions that are the hardest to keep isn’t it? The only thing we can do sometimes is remember…

  3. here’s to the missing!

  4. It’s certainly difficult – no, well-nigh impossible – to capture those fleeting images, those clever juxtapositions of ideas, those beautiful phrases. You don’t need next time for this one, Marina.

  5. A wonderful tactile quality to your words::curvacious
    May the missing forever bring out poems like this one ~peace, Jason

  6. intense…there is a sadness that comes to me in seeing the pinned up butterfly…ready for scrutiny, trapped…a bit of its beauty now gone in its death….yes there is valor in trying…we will never pin it down completely…but we can hope to keep it living…smiles.

    • Always the question: do we kill the essence of something by trying to capture it? For a long time I thought the only reality that existed was something that could be captured in words. Now, more and more, they escape me.

  7. hypercryptical on said:

    Agree with Margot. But it’s the remembering that is the problem…
    Anna :o]

  8. Very nicely done and I particularly like how the last line brings it all home.

  9. yes, there is always valor in trying, returning again and again may feel futile, but in truth, it is good practice. I love the sense of this falling down the page…

  10. Such a great read, I enjoyed this very much! I agree with what Margot said :-)

  11. Here’s to the missing, for sure …

  12. I really enjoyed this… here’s to the missing…out there flitting about in their own world and try again we must.

  13. A wild hunt. I saw a butterfly.

  14. The poem makes an interesting shape – I like how you did Falling… “Here’s to the missing,” yes… but I think there wasn’t missing here :)

    • So kind of you to say so! Actually, there was a bit of a formatting kerfuffle on the ‘Falling’ – I wanted it to be more diagonal across the page, but it kept springing back to the vertical!

  15. So true…defeat is hard to take and the trying and failing can feel without valor…but it’s not. I agree with Kelly, it’s good practice.

  16. what a beautiful poem. Life is less about precision than its seeking. And hopefully we never tire of trying. Really enjoyed this.

  17. Very nicely done. I enjoyed the word shaping and verse!

  18. Intense and cool piece.

Do share your thoughts!

