findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Sunday Escapism: Where Would You Go to Write?

New Forest Tree House Study Centre, www.cet.org.uk

New Forest Tree House Study Centre, http://www.cet.org.uk

What inspires you most?  A tree house?

Or maybe a house on the water?

cabanesdesgrandslacs.com

cabanesdesgrandslacs.com

A castle with a garden for all the five senses?

Chateau, Yvoire.

Chateau, Yvoire.

A book-lined garden shed? (Don’t think about damp and other practicalities for a moment!)

portejardin_200

In my grandiose moments, I dream of escaping to the old Royal Salt Mine designed by that mad visionary Nicolas Ledoux.  It may be architecture on a huge scale, but it’s soothingly remote.

Saline Royale, Arc-et-Senans

Saline Royale, Arc-et-Senans

In the end, though, it will have to be sofa. Or maybe my garden deck.  Still, it could be worse, right?

Terrace

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Sunday Escapism: Where Would You Go to Write?

  1. Marina Sofia – Oh, these are all gorgeous! Hmm…. I like that private book-lined garden shed – so cosy and comfortable looking. Damp or not it draws me in.

  2. Robert on said:

    I lean toward the book-lined garden shed, too. I’d also like to escape to a cabin in the mountains and write for an entire weekend while my family’s back home…but I don’t think my wife would go for that. So far me, it’ll have to be writing here in my chair while my two-year-old drinks juice, or in the dining room while my six-year-old runs around like a superhero.

  3. I like the look of the treehouse and the garden shed. My garden shed would definitely not look like that though, should I choose to buy and write in one!

  4. The castle for me, please (with a full staff of servants, of course). But not to write – I’ll just be the reader… ;)

    • Readers are the most important of all. As someone said recently, could all the writers and wannabe writers cease their activities for a year or so, so that readers can catch up with things.

  5. I like to sit by the sea

  6. Anywhere nice and quiet where I can listen to my words frolicking in my head, smiles ~

  7. ALL would be perfect as long as the kids weren’t there. ;)

Do share your thoughts!

