findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Curiosity

It gnaws in instalments

it bites in great gulps

Just when you think it’s done

the frenzy starts again      beyond

reason or caring

beyond the reach of voice.

From storm cloud to storm cloud chasing

always a step too dull

just one grasp away

 

Fear lodges its grainy head,

sometimes Inspiration follows

 

Over at dVerse Poets Pub for Open Link Night we were discussing ways of recording poetry on the go. This is one such rough draft of a poem scribbled on a plane or train in a tiny Rhodia notebook with a special gel pen (because I am a nerd like that!).

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Curiosity

  1. Marina Sofia – I love it! Yes, curiosity takes on a life of its own and takes us over doesn’t it?

  2. ha. a nerd for a gel pen…smiles. hey good job rocking the napkin…fear def will get in the way at times…maybe sometimes even save us from that curiousity but hey…without it would we ever dare?

  3. Curiosity certainly breeds inspiration…as frightening as that may be! Nice!

  4. curiosity….fear and inspiration….they are tight neighbors at time, arent they..? way cool how you capture the process…i’m a sucker for frixion pens…ha… smiles

  5. Nice to see the process captured – the poem.. The words that stick on paper– I’m inspired to carry a notebook

  6. I also scribble on Rhodia and I sometimes use gel pens (although I find they seem to run out quickly – let me know if you have a recommendation)!

  7. My favorites are the small Moleskin notebooks which I tuck in my purse with my Pilot, Dr Grip pen- super comfortable. Aren’t we funny people?

  8. Oh I love this!

    “It gnaws in instalments

    it bites in great gulps”

    so true. Thank you for writing.

  9. aprille on said:

    so relate to the gel pen:
    Can’t write with anything else.
    Trouble with rough drafts is that you have to crawl into the original frame of mind before it can be decyphered.
    [I prefer rough draughts :-)]

  10. I like the way you “penned” your thoughts. Well done.

  11. Not so rough at all! :)

  12. Jennifer Butler Basile on said:

    Wonderful. And having an affinity for pens does not make one a nerd ;-) or at least not a lonely one!

  13. A cool piece !

Do share your thoughts!

