findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Flash of Memory

You hunch over all gangly, tongue-twisting blush,

 

thick glasses peering at your computer, the visual rush,

 

while I bask in the warmth of drawn curtains, crumpets for tea.

 

Distant buzz of communal payphones. You never quite ignore me.

 

‘Mmmm, speeeed…’ you mutter

 

and the honey-drenched murmur seeps through my body like butter.

Buttered crumpet

Buttered crumpet (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is my offering for the Open Link Night over at dVerse Poets Pub. Do join us there for some fun and huge diversity of voices!

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “Flash of Memory

  1. mmm i want one….smiles…a little honey and butter…hopefully they come out from behind the computer screen….smiles.

  2. This poem has a wonderful rhythm. The rhymes are a subtle undertone. The last line is perfect. You pack a lot of quality into this poem. I enjoyed reading it…thanks.

  3. Marina Sofia – I love your choices of words here – so evocative!

  4. I am not sure I have ever had a crumpet. (smiles) Interesting how sometime people can be in the same space and doing different things. Hopefully the one will join the other for crumpets!!

  5. Brendan on said:

    Connecting here via modem or memory, the moment is intimate and plush, redolent as your snack. You have a nice ripe inner ear for the language — reminds me a bit of Seamus Heaney. – Brendan

  6. Brendan on said:

    PS Flawless name for a blog, too.

  7. Crumpets and honey with tea (Twinings of course)…one of life’s great comforts !

  8. Crumpets– mmm love that. Really love the sentiment – never quite ignore me. Says it all.

  9. ha! This made me smile…here’s to buttery goodness :-)

  10. oh so much warmth in this… hmmmm… i want one as well… this i call comfort food… real comfort… and way beyond food..

  11. I have not had crumpets in a while but your poem makes me want to toast one and add nice butter!

Do share your thoughts!

