findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Jazz and Java

Frost1When rhythm kicks

when rhythm hits

I

feel the heat

wrap up in it

why

music fills all spaces in me

never claim to see          just wonder and be

but

no denying its power-grip

heart does a tock-salto-tick

it blends its dazzle into my soul

feel all the tension

feel all the edges

soften         making me whole.

The irresistible syncopation of the Claude Nougaro song ‘Le Jazz et la Java’ (see the link below) inspired this poem, which I am offering up with my best Christmas wishes to the last Open Link Night of the year. Let’s celebrate in style with dVerse Poets!

Single Post Navigation

30 thoughts on “Jazz and Java

  1. nice when music inspires poetry….def. a jazz feel to this…nice..

    • Sorry for late reply: my comments to the first few comments seem to have disappeared. I’m not an artist (nor a musician either, for that matter), so I have to look for other sources of inspiration for my poetry.

  2. A very rhythmic write… Well-crafted. :-)
    -HA

  3. Oh love the jazzy rhythms in this.. great to write poetry from music… great idea.

  4. Your poem, syncopated–and I loved hearing that beat in French.

  5. ha. i like this…tapping into the music of life and rhythm…i def let it take me when i can and just enjoy the music of life…this felt light…and i enjoyed…smiles.

    • Ooops, where did the replies to yours and all of the above’s comments go? Strange goings on… but I am, as always, grateful for your visit and comments. It is light, intended as a fun piece to end the year on!

  6. Loved this–the word placement feels so much like the synco–

  7. Marina Sofia – As a jazz lover I can only admire the way you have captured what jazz is and does. Beautiful!

  8. I was moving to your beat as I read your wonderful poem – loved this! K

  9. A perfect break … your words and the music … merci!

  10. A great introduction to an artist I was previously unfamiliar with.

  11. 1emeraldcity on said:

    Love the beat and rhythm here! Actually started to tap my feet :) Good stuff!~jackie~

  12. aprille on said:

    Ah, wishing that music had that kind of effect on me…but the truth is it leaves me cold. Odd, as my mother was a concert pianist and my son is a song writer. The gene obviously skipped…

  13. Sisyphus47 on said:

    the lyrics are as fab as the tune! :)

  14. Enjoyed this jazzy piece.. just made me smile..music fills the spaces in me as well..

  15. I like the way the tone and style soften towards the end – but the first half is great: its good to see words used rhythmically and strongly like this. I often aspire to link poetry to music but rarely dare.

    • Yes, the second half is when jazz players go off on a tangent in an impro… You should write some music-inspired poetry – they just seem such perfect companions. Would love to read the results.

  16. very nice collaboration with the song…music does fill spaces that otherwise are hard to reach

  17. Dear Marina, this is a lovely poem and i so get the influence music has on our lives as I have it playing all the time. Music the best of companions.

Do share your thoughts!

