findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Too Old for Ghost Stories?

TheWhisperingIn the early hours of the morning I finished reading Sarah Rayne’s The Whispering. I have to admit: I downloaded it under the false impression that it was crime fiction, because I don’t ‘do’ ghost stories.  Any more. I did love them when I was a teenager, especially the classics like M. R. James, The Turn of the Screw (which I still think is one of Henry James’ masterpieces), Edgar Allan Poe. But felt I had outgrown them.

Yet I read The Whispering in one day and started wondering why I am being such a pesky little genre snob even when I vow to myself that I will be open-minded. Have I not ventured into sci fi, chick lit, YA, historical or dystopian crime fiction and all sorts of other genres I was less enthusiastic about and been pleasantly surprised again and again? (Well, nearly everything, bar vampire stories.) What put me off supernatural tales after a while was that the stories tend to be rather implausible and ultimately depend very much on the reader’s willingness to believe in them.

This applies to this book as well: when you pick it apart at the end, there are some holes in the story. But ghost stories are not about logic and strong plotline: they are about build-up and atmosphere. On these two counts, this novel does not disappoint. It is a contemporary story about a researcher from Oxford University, Michael Flint, who sets off to a secluded country house in the Fens to visit the reclusive Miss Gilmore. She has family documents about the tragic fate of the Palestrina Choir at a convent in Belgium, so we know there will be a story within a story.

Of course we have all of the traditional and inevitable components of a haunted house mystery: the sinister, unwelcoming house, its strange mistress (whom Michael imagines to be a cross between Miss Havisham and Morticia Addams) the tree falling down and blocking the road, so that our main protagonist has to spend the night in the house. Michael finds it hard to contain his curiosity, even after an unsettling encounter upon his arrival at the front door with an elusive young man whispering demented things. The Fenland storms and mists may frighten a lesser man, but the library is well-stocked, the personal archives are beckoning as are the deep soft chairs and cosy fireplace, so ‘if the research took longer than the planned two days, it would be no hardship.’ Through careful perusing of archives, plus some supernatural inspiration, he begins to piece together the sad story of First World War soldier Stephen and his horrendous experiences at the German POW camp of Holzminden. So quite a topical subject in this centenary year of the start of WW1.

GhostNow, bear in mind that I haven’t read supernatural tales in a long while, so perhaps the fashions have changed and I am merely stating the obvious. But what seems to me to elevate this book above the run-of-the-mill chiller/horror stories is the modern humour and interplay of characters. I have heard that Michael and his partner Nell West feature as investigators into the supernatural in a series of other novels. The author also ably intersperses scenes from the house with the research being conducted elsewhere, which gives a nice respite from the piling on of horrors. Yet there are some genuine frissons to be had and not just one but a few climaxes.

Am I glad I read this book? Yes, it was an entertaining, chilling and thrilling fun-fair ride. Will I seek out ghost stories from now on? Probably not. But I won’t avoid them and prejudge them either.

Your turn now! Are there any genres you shun or dismiss? And have you ever read them by accident? If so, have they confirmed your negative impression or have they pleasantly surprised you?

 

 

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Too Old for Ghost Stories?

  1. Marina Sofia – I’m glad you thought this was worth the read. I think you’ve hit on something really important about supernatural stories, too: it’s all about the atmosphere that the author creates. If that’s done well, it can carry the reader away.

    • There was one moment while reading that book where I felt tempted to hide under my bedclothes and peek through my fingers. And I don’t do that with the very graphic crime novels that I sometimes read. Ghost stories perhaps play on a more primeval type of fear.

  2. Genre snob. Love it. I’ve been pleasantly surprised by some non-fiction (I’m normally a fiction gal) especially memoir.

  3. Maybe I’ll write a ghost story too! Except that it may not pass my own reality filter.
    I used to be so taken by ghost stories in my younger years. I just loved Christine by Stephen King when I was young.

  4. I’ve been enjoying my recent foray into horror – like you, a genre I’ve ignored for years. Interested to hear that you found this book worth reading. I’ve only read one Rayne and I absolutely hated it. That particular one was filled with scenes of every kind of rape and degrading sex and left a deeply unpleasant aftertaste. In fact, it was only the second book I reviewed on Amazon and I reviewed it as a warning to others to steer clear. Needless to say, I haven’t read another Rayne since – perhaps I’ve unfairly misjudged her on the basis of one book…

  5. I recently reviewed a supernatural novella and really wasn’t sure what it was going to be about or what to expect. I love a bit of magic realism and the supernatural is just that little bit more present. From the reading point of view, it carries with it for me an element of caution, not being familiar enough with it to anticipate or even look forward to the surprise. One almost need to read more of a genre to get into training for it – in terms of expectations.

  6. Pingback: January Reads | findingtimetowrite

Do share your thoughts!

