findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Happy Birthday, Dear Bloggy!

Rainbow Cake from www.migros.ch

Rainbow Cake from http://www.migros.ch

Today my blog turns two – so toddler tantrums are probably on the cards now. So far, it’s been an utter joy and delight, if somewhat demanding of love and attention. Above all, it’s been malleable, unformed one might say. A little bit of everything I happened to fancy or think or want to post.

I started it for purely utilitarian purposes: it would act as an accountability instrument. Force me to gather my thoughts, force me to write (not necessarily post) daily, force me to share with others instead of hiding. In 2 years I’ve posted 310 blog posts, which is on average one new one every 2 1/2 days.

And it’s been successful as an accountability tool. Modest internautic success, but more than enough for me, an unknown name (pseudonym) with no novel yet to my name and just rekindling my passion for poetry after a hiatus of a couple of decades. I didn’t expect many people to find me, read me, let alone comment or follow. Yet around 350 people do – thank you so much! I get an average of 30-35 views per day, although that wonderful dVerse Poets community does bump up my numbers every time I link one of my poems to their site. My most successful month ever was August 2013, when I was writing solidly (at my novel, at my poetry and at my blog, triple whammy) for at least 8 hours a day. So quantity and practice does make a difference. Building tribes and platforms? Pah! I leave that to those writers who have actual published books to sell. At the moment, I’m just too excited exploring.

I love the international reach of the blog. The vast majority of views do come from the US (more than 9000 – so much for claims that Americans do not read!), with the UK limping in second place with only 5000, followed by France, Greece and Canada. I do wonder what the lone person from Mauritius and Syria thought when they came across my blog… I wish them well, in their very different, probably much more difficult worlds.

The most popular topics on my blog are roughly what I expected: poems, poetry and book reviews, but I am very much amused by the search terms most used for finding me. David Foster Wallace, Tawara Machi and Poetry Workshop are all rather surprising entrants into the Top 5, but the one in the top spot will have all those who know me snorting with laughter. Are you ready for it? It’s Country gardens. Now, although I love beautiful houses and gardens, I am a very inexperienced and clumsy gardener. In fact, I have the opposite of green thumbs and manage to cheerfully kill off any plant that I buy or receive as a present. So it’s rather ironic! I hope those who are diverted to my website via this term are not too horrified by what they find here instead!

Single Post Navigation

25 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Dear Bloggy!

  1. Happy blogoversary Marina Sofia

  2. Glad you decided to join the blogosphere – I hope you have many more bloggerversaries to come ;)

  3. Happy birthday brilliant blog! I love your blog, Marina, and you were one of the first people I met in the blogosphere – and you’ve been a fantastic source of support and inspiration ever since. Jo x

    • Awww, and that’s exactly what makes blogging worthwhile: meeting like-minded, talented and genuine people like yourself, whom otherwise it might have taken years to get to know…

  4. Marina Sofia – Congratulations and happy Blog Birthday! I love the different topics you address here on the blog, and I do love your poetry and your writing. Here’s to many more happy blog years!

  5. Happy Blogversary!

  6. Happy Blogoversary! I’m a fairly new follower but I always look forward to your posts – particularly your poetry. You’re one of the few bloggers who has made me cry…in a good way!

  7. Brendan on said:

    Happy blogversary and thanks for the verses. Funny how naming a blog creates a new world. Maybe I’ll start another titled “whatelseamIgonnado?”

  8. Congratulations! :-) I wish you many more happy, trying, frustrating, but always and generally fulfilling writing hours and more beautiful pieces, too. :-)

  9. What an achievement and as you say writing a blog is a way of tracking your writing. I have read more fantastic poems since reading blogs like yours than I had done in years. Happy 2nd birthday and wishing you many more years of successful blogging!

    • Thank you and I agree, I’ve been reading more poetry (and learning more about poetry) than ever before. And people say that blogs make you read less real books, but I find I’m buying more books than ever before.

  10. Marina, you’ve done so well in two years! It is a commitment of time and energy to blog, and I find it will take as much of me as I’m willing to put into it…which varies from year to year. Still, after eight years this May, I can’t imagine not blogging with the sense of community about books it gives me. Thanks for the way you comment faithfully, thoughtfully and kindly. May we long continue with this adventure!

    • Indeed, it’s been a delight meeting people like you (and responding to some of the challenges you set!). 8 years? Wow, makes me feel like a baby, but I suppose time passes fast when you’re having fun!

  11. Happy blogoversary! Well done, and keep up the brilliant work! XX

  12. Happy belated blogiversary! Keep up with the good work. I hope you had a slice of this weird cake on our behalf.

Do share your thoughts!

