findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Friday Fun with a Valentine Twist: Stromae

For those who prefer their Valentine’s Day with a bit of humour and bite, here is a fun single about men and women by that Belgian genius Stromae. Thanks to my children, who brought him to my attention, although his lyrics are maybe a bit too grown-up and cynical for their age-group. The voice of his generation (he is in his 20s, although he sometimes looks about 15), he has a very wise head on his shoulders, and manages to temper his cynicism and despair with humour and compassion. And not afraid to make fun of both sexes in this battle song à la Stromae:

Quick translation: ‘You men are all the same…/ a band of wimpish philanderers/ so predictable…  I’m not sure you deserve me/ You’re lucky that we love you/ You should thank me.

Easy to say that I’m too whiny/and that I like too much blablabla/ but no, no, what you call my moods are important/ life is for having children/ but it’s never the right time/ of course you’re there for making them/ but for raising them you’re all absent…

When I’m no longer beautiful/ or at least, not naturally so/ oh, stop, I know you’re lying/only Kate Moss is eternal./Ugly or stupid, it’s never good (enough)./Stupid or beautiful, it’s never good./Beautiful or me, it’s never good./ Her or me, that’s never good.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Friday Fun with a Valentine Twist: Stromae

  1. Oh, this is fun, Marina Sofia! Thanks for sharing :-)

  2. made me smile… it’s good to see things with a bit of humor..ha

  3. A terrific antidote to the red roses and boxes of chocolates and all the I love yous.. I prefer edgy, less predictable offerings.. like this.. very cool!

  4. His words do tell some truth. The ones about being present for making children but not wanting to be there for the raising of them. Some of that in my own extended family…ugh! Really hit home…

  5. Pingback: Children’s Idols and Cultural Differences | findingtimetowrite

Do share your thoughts!

