findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

An Even Better Cat Poem (By My Sons)

My sons were not impressed with the poem I wrote about our cat for dVerse Poets Pub. They suggested (insisted) I should post their ‘Song for Zoe’ instead. They’ve composed it themselves, written the lyrics and regularly perform it as a lullaby for our bemused cat. So here goes: the much better cat poem which perfectly captures her quintessential nature (and it rhymes!).

Zoe can be fierce and Zoe can be scary,

Zoe can be cute and Zoe is so hairy.

Zoe can be fussy and Zoe can be strong.

Zoe can be greedy and this is Zoe’s song.

Single Post Navigation

26 thoughts on “An Even Better Cat Poem (By My Sons)

  1. Sisyphus47 on said:

    I’m not that keen on felines, but this is so good! ;-)

  2. Lots of talent there Marina, they obviously have acquired their poetic ability from there mother.

  3. I love it! I think it covers her attributes – I presume. And it’s catchy. I really like it :)

  4. I’d say that was a pretty awesome poem!

  5. Oh, I like this very much, Marina Sofia! Your sons have talent (not that I’m surprised given their mum).

  6. This is great, Marina. I like “Zoe can be greedy”. That is like my cat.

  7. ha. absolutely cute….props to your sons. i have written poetry with both my boys
    and it is a treat to see them try to do what dad does…..smiles.

    way to go boys

  8. how cool is that!!! and what a lucky cat that gets her own lullaby… your sons are wonderful…smiles

  9. Great lines, Marina Sofia! Congratulate your sons for me.

  10. Nice to see that your sons are following in your footsteps as poets!

  11. Glenn Buttkus on said:

    These boys don’t sound like teenagers yet; & their Ballad to Zoe would be enough to make Pat Hatt smile, & his cat. Isn’t it interesting that your boys don’t have to work hard at seeing the world as such a place of wonder; a thing most of we jaded adults have to project and remember; such fun, & great energy.

    • No, they’re not yet teenagers – sometimes they act like 2 year olds, but they are somewhere in-between… varies from day to day. Thank you for reading their efforts!

  12. Ahhh. As I read this, our little ZOE (dog) is in surgery for her neck…cervical spine. So this is extra-special and bravo to your sons!

  13. I thought of Shel Silverstein. : )

Do share your thoughts!

