findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Friday Fun: Writers’ Studies

I’ve been struggling with a poetry assignment all this week, so no time to be clever, or poetical  or witty today. Instead, I wish you a happy weekend and leave you with this pictures of the studies/workrooms of famous authors. Today I opt for the glitzy, glamorous and rather tidy…

Michael Pollan, American journalist and foodwriter. From tobeshelved.com

Michael Pollan, American journalist and food writer. His writing hut from tobeshelved.com

Hilary Kerr, fashion writer and stylist. From domainehome.com.

Hilary Kerr, fashion writer and stylist. From domainehome.com.

Colson Whitehead, American novelist. From Tmagazine, New York Times.

Colson Whitehead, American novelist. From Tmagazine, New York Times.

Roddy Doyle, Irish novelist and dramatist.  From Tmagazine, New York Times.

Roddy Doyle, Irish novelist and dramatist. From Tmagazine, New York Times.

Edna St. Vincent Millay (1892 - 1950), American poet. From Writershouses.com

Edna St. Vincent Millay (1892 – 1950), American poet. From Writershouses.com

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Writers’ Studies

  1. Oh, I love these places, Marina Sofia! They’re wonderful! I think I like Edna St. Vincent Millay’s especially, ‘though I couldn’t tell you why precisely.

  2. Wish I could write in places like this :D

  3. Oo my ‘study/office’ is a v similar shape to Roddy Doyle’s so this has given me some shelving ideas !!!

  4. Lol! I didn’t spot that at first glance :)

  5. Roddy Doyle’s for me, I think, for the skylight – but might have to re-paint…mossy green perhaps…

  6. Tidy? Yes. Very nice :)

  7. I’ll opt for the hut :-)
    So glad I don’t have to show my messy work place.

  8. very cool places…it would be interesting as well to see some of the dVerse writers writing places… happy weekend to you marina

  9. I want Millay’s study. Oh, yes.

    A few years back the photographer Kyle Cassidy was planning to put together a book of writers’ workplaces; I’ve no idea what happened to the project. But I know that in this house at least the suspicion that you voiced a few comments up was definitely well founded: I spent about two days cleaning my study up, finding stuff that had been lost for years . . .

  10. Wicked fun, thank you! Hands down, Michael Pollan’s. Love it to pieces.

  11. Someday, I hope to have such a writerly abode. For now, I will survive with using my commute to/from work for my writing needs.

Do share your thoughts!

