findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle…

In the name of recycling, I was looking through my first year’s worth of blog posts and discovering some old favourites (the ones to do with book reviews). I still think they are some of the best things I’ve done, which just goes to show that perhaps I was more creative back then.

A Japanese poet who marked a whole generation in Japan’s boom years – Tawara Machi

Still a feminist after all these years – but this time, with cause - The Women’s Room

My Favourite Scandinavian Crime Fiction – the mother and father of crime 

Upon rereading old favourites – The Great Gatsby 

Sadly underrated favourite authors

 

 

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle…

  1. I love the idea of going through one’s past posts. I think it gives a real perspective. And as you say, there are often lots of hidden gems…

    • I’ve often been grateful to other bloggers who point me in the direction of their older blog posts. Besides, I was going through my posts to see if there was anything worth preserving – and it’s often not the poems (which change with every edit) or the quick book reviews.

  2. I enjoyed that little retrospective – thanks! Generally when deciding whether to ‘follow’ someone I read two or three posts and always have the intention to go back later and investigate further. Then life intervenes and it never happens. So I think there’s a real place for recycling in the blogosphere, since our list of followers continually changes and refreshes over time.

    • Same here! I’ve discovered some older blog posts by some of my favourite bloggers by sheer accident and thought: ‘Oh, goodness, I’d no idea they’d written about this, should go back and read more’.

  3. That was interesting, Marina. I especially enjoyed the post about the Women’s Room. I am old enough to have forgotten if I have read some books, but I don’t think I ever read that. Also old enough to remember and have experienced a lot of sexist behavior. The book sounds good. And the post on Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö, and the post on underrated authors.

  4. Inspired! Might well have to follow your lead…. Thanks, Marina, for a reminder of your great archive!

  5. What a fine idea! It’s often difficult to keep up with all the posts of bloggers we love to follow so this a great opportunity to read some gems previously missed. Thanks!

Do share your thoughts!

