findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Absurdist Poetry for a Summer Day

How to cheer yourself up on a day when you are listless, fluey and bed-ridden? Especially when it is lovely and sunny outside and you can’t take advantage of it? Why, with a cat picture and some absurdist poetry, of course…

What My Cat Thinks

P1020292

Birds of a feather flock on the lawn for my benefit.

The early bird catches my eye but it takes two to tango.

I personally always look before I leap,

But I don’t look them in the mouth.

Given the choice, I prefer chicken before the eggs, even if they’re all in one basket.

Count the chicks? Not likely – any number will do.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Absurdist Poetry for a Summer Day

  1. And a stitch in time waits for no one!

  2. I love this poem, and your ‘chicken before the eggs’ line reminds me of the time when our cat scampered off with the leftovers from a roast chicken left unattended in the kitchen…oh how we laughed.

  3. This was awesome, very clever :)

  4. This is really clever and creative, Marina Sofia! I hope you’re feeling better soon.

Do share your thoughts!

