findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

Very Inspiring People to Discover

From Wikipedia.

From Wikipedia.

When I first started my blog just over two years ago, I would get terribly excited about awards. Someone was actually reading me? Someone actually thought I was worth recommending to others? I could not stop myself doing little happy dances all over the house (even the occasional major dance coreographies).

But then I realised that some of the bloggers I admired and nominated for awards were less happy about receiving them. Not that they didn’t appreciate the attention, but they already had a shelf groaning with awards, and didn’t really have time to respond.

I also discovered that I didn’t much like sharing personal things about myself, which is usually one of the requirements…

However, I am still a fan of awards, especially when:

a) they come from bloggers I hugely respect – as is the case here with Raven, a fantastic reviewer of all things crime fiction

b) they give me the opportunity to discover new blogs (yes, I know I’ll never get a chance to read all of them on a regular basis, but inspiration is great even in short, haphazard spurts!)

c) they give me the chance to spread a little love and starstruck admiration for writers, readers and reviewers even if I don’t always comment regularly on their blogs.

blogger-awardSo, thank you, Raven, for nominating me for this award!

Here are 7 things you may not know about me:

1) I have never in my life worn purple, nor ever shall.

2) I once invited my classmates over for my birthday party in April (although my birthday wasn’t until two months later) without my parents knowing anything about it. Until everyone showed up on the doorstep.

3) My first published poem appeared in the school magazine when I was 8 or 9. It was about a bridge and a stream, but all copies of this masterpiece have been destroyed.

4) I don’t usually pretend to read books I haven’t read, but I do sometimes pretend to have seen films I haven’t seen. What can I say? I don’t get out much!

5) I skipped many classes in high school to play ping-pong.

6) My favourite three countries in the world are Brazil, Norway and Canada, despite the fact that I only spent 2 weeks in the first, had a few short business trips in the 2nd and have never visited the third.

7) I really, really can’t draw. Nor sing. And my botanical skills are second to all…

Here are my list of nominees. As always, there is no obligation to participate, but it’s my way of saying thank you to blogs which always make my day or my week. Apologies if by any chance you have been nominated already by others for the same award.

Books and Reviews – crime fiction, women’s representation and feminism

Books, Biscuits and Tea –  crime, women’s fiction and YA

Shiteki na Usagi – a poetic rabbit and literary journal

JacquiWine’s Journal – Jacqui has only recently started her own blog, but her reviews are already legendary. Plus, she likes wine!

A Life in Books – book news, reviews and recommendations

7Saturdays - quirky, eclectic, poems, meditations, but always inspirational

Claudia Schoenfeld – artist and poet, co-founder of dVerse Poets, warm and imaginative

Brian Miller – tongue firmly in cheek, co-founder of dVerse Poets, a man to expand your mind and vocabulary

The Mocking Bird Sings – poems, prose and jazz

My Cup of Stars –  uninhibited reviews, independent reading tastes

Bonespark – writing inspiration, prompts and reviews

Smithereens – French woman reading and blogging in English – charming, witty and wise

Stuck in a Book – Mostly books, some cake, and the occasional paean to cats

Zouxzoux – photography, prose, poetry and New Orleans come to life

IpsoFactoDotMe – supposedly comfort zone reading, but a very broad choice of literature

 

Here’s what you should do if you have been nominated :
Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
List the rules and display the award.
Share seven facts about yourself.
Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.
Optional: display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.

Single Post Navigation

28 thoughts on “Very Inspiring People to Discover

  1. I really really can’t draw either :)

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination and your lovely tweet! :)
    I can’t sing either and I also pretend to have seen certain films too (although I never do that with books).

    • Ha, I wonder why we have that double standard? OK with films, but not OK with books. Well, maybe during my schooldays, when I had to write an essay and had not finished the whole book…

  3. Congratulations on a richly-deserved award! You always inspire me. Every time. And now I find that you play ping-pong too – so neat!

  4. Congratulations on a very-well deserved award! I love reading your blog posts, and it’s great to find out a little more about you (I can’t draw or sing either).
    Thank you so much for nominating me – I’m delighted! I feel very lucky to be in such great company here.

  5. I love to sing but I only do it in very private spaces because I really can’t. Life is so unfair sometimes.

    I do wear purple though – it’s my favourite colour. Hope we can still be cyber friends :)

  6. Thank you! No.1 is so intriguing…

    • I have to admit I was relieved when I did not have a girl, as most girls’ clothes nowadays seem to be pink or purple, and neither of them are colours I particularly like.

  7. Congratulations, you are very deserving.

    • And yours is another blog I would have recommended, had I not been limited to 15. Well, maybe next time, if anyone should be foolhardy enough to give me another award!

  8. mind expanded by the tongue in cheek…lol…love.

    ping pong…that would be worth skipping school for…i used to skip and hang out in the grave yard…

    so whats up with purple?

    your birthday story is amazing. ha. the key…did they bring presents? smiles.

    will check out some of your other friends later this evening…just finished helping a friend move…and i am worn out…lol.

  9. Thank you for including me in this dynamic and creative group of people. Am I the only singer?

  10. Congrats on your award! I love your interesting tidbits, especially the one about purple. Luckily, that color isn’t hard to avoid!

    • You’d be surprised… for little girls, it seems that nowadays pink and purple (or violet, if we want to be kind) are the only options. Makes my feminist heart explode!

  11. Thanks for the nod. Just glad someone is reading so I’m not always talking to myself. :) Now following some of your other recs.

    • Quality over quantity is what I tell myself. I’d rather have a few regular readers whose writing and opinions I respect, rather than thousands of followers I don’t really get to know. Of course, this is before publishing my novels – after that I’d be grateful to have thousands of readers… :-)

  12. Thank you for the award! It’s so inspiring to have a reader nom me for a blogging award and especially when it’s someone who is as talented as you. :) I can’t wait to check out your other nominees – I already read the wonderful Brian and Claudia – good choices! Congrats on your own richly deserved award! xo

    • You are too kind! And yes, I think it is through Brian and Claudia that we originally ‘met’. They are great at bringing people together – and I hope to do the same with some of the great voices I listed above.

  13. Pingback: The Inspiring and the Inspired | Zouxzoux

  14. Pingback: Inspiring Blogs for Writers | jean's writing

Do share your thoughts!

