findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing…

NW3 – A Sonnet to a Postcode

keats_free

Keats’ house, Hampstead.

For a brief while during my student days in London I lived at a very desirable address in NW3 – on the Hampstead/Belsize Park borders. Not far from Keats’ beautiful home. Of course my accommodation was a typical student hole with shared facilities, but for a while there I felt I could soar. Here’s another sonnet – I told you I’ve been working hard on poetic form – but some rules are made to be broken…

You called it precarious and spindly, so I stopped

inviting you up dusty stairs,

my isolated bubble-nest at the top

of the world. Forget shared kitchen, bathtub hairs.

Across the hall Ariel made yoghurts live,

while Tosh wrote cleaning rota lists.

I draped white billows over furniture

mouldy, mismatched and grim. I felt the bliss

of my first double bed.  Alone.

This attic is forever summer, on the brink

of endless choice, dreams all my own.

A room of pleasing no one but myself and Keats,

the desk where I write Chapter One again,

again, ‘cos time is endless and I’m at peace…

Once in my life I had a posh abode:

an empty shell in the correct postcode.

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “NW3 – A Sonnet to a Postcode

  1. What lovely memories you must have of that place, Marina Sofia. And rules or no rules, you’ve evoked the beauty of even a student ‘hole’ so well. Talk about your inspiration!

  2. Those were the days…

  3. There was me thinking Keats had always been too poor to own his own home and sponged of others.
    Anyways, he would have admired your freedom with rhyme and rhythm.
    “If by dull rhymes our English must be chain’d,
    And, like Andromeda, the Sonnet sweet
    Fetter’d, in spite of pained loveliness”

    • Thank you for your link – that looks exactly like my understanding of sonnets – there has to be a certain amount of freedom to fit in with the present-day (even in Keats’ time).

  4. You probably know this already, but just in case
    read it again here

Do share your thoughts!

