Global Reading Challenge 2013

Hello again, everyone, and thank you for not forgetting about me completely during my looooong absence, reinforced by lack of internet, laptop, place or time to call my own (writing time giving way to family time).

2013 is announcing itself as a very busy year professionally and personally, so finding the time to write will be even more of a challenge than usual. Yet, despite that, reading must and will happen.  And not just random reading – I do believe in challenging myself and going beyond my old comfort friends.  So I am signing up to the Global Reading Challenge as outlined by the avid reader and fantastic host Kerri of Mysteries in Paradise.

I am signing up for the Medium Challenge, which means reading two books from each of the continents, defined here as Africa, Asia, Australasia/Oceania, Europe, North America, South America and a Seventh Continent, which could be Antarctica, or an unfamiliar setting, such as the sea, space, a supernatural/paranormal world, history, the future etc. So fourteen books for the year – doesn’t sound like much, but when you add all the familiar reading, rereading, ARC for reviews and all that, it becomes a little less of a sure winner…

So that is my challenge, instead of New Year’s Resolutions.  What goals are you setting yourself, either for your reading or your writing?  Or personally? And what is your opinion of New Year resolutions?

20 thoughts on “Global Reading Challenge 2013”

  1. Marina Sofia – Oh, I’m glad you’re signing up for this challenge. I’ll be very interested to see what you think of the books you read. It’s wonderful to have you back – I’ve missed you.

    1. I’ve missed you all too! Have just discovered a new city for crime, Marseille, in the atmospheric novels of Jean-Claude Izzo, so that’s one for the Europe part of the challenge already…

  2. That’s sounds awesome. I definitely want to explore books from more parts of the world, especially South America.

    I signed up for the Goodreads 2013 reading challenge this year, and put down 25 books, which I think is doable. I’ve been trying to read a lot more…so far, so good! And, I want to get the first draft of my third book done. : )

    1. Great goals to have – well done! I know what you mean: I find it too easy to slip into the familiar routines, books from countries or authors that I know. South America is a big favourite but unknown for me!

  3. Haven’t done a reading goal yet, but do have a writing one. I want to start querying my novel by summertime and want to start submitting my short stories to contests and/or magazines. I’ve got two in the pipeline already and want to do many more. Writing is a priority this year!!

    1. I admire you: go, Alisa, go! I find it easier to admit to my reading goals rather than my writing goals (easier to fudge in case of failure or disappointment). But I should be brave and commit to the writing ones too – and hold myself accountable.

  4. I’m looking forward to your possible reviews. Writing goal? Just to keep at it in the midst of many things. Reading goal? Same. Glad you’re back.

  5. Happy New Year and welcome back. What a wonderful idea, books from other continents. Looking forward to your reading goals and of course, your writing goals too. Watching with anticipation.

  6. I love making resolutions, but in general I’m a list maker, so it’s all part of the usual course of things. I’ve vowed to read 50 books, which is double what I’ve been reading for years. I keep telling myself I can do it! Good luck with your challenge as well.

    1. You can do it! I’ve managed to read over 50 books this past year, which is probably more than in the last few years. But perhaps it was because I also tried to write about the books I’d read, even if it was just a short review or end of month review. Accountability and lists work for me too!

Do share your thoughts!

