A Dream of Heroes

English: Roll of rusty barbed wire on a farm
English: Roll of rusty barbed wire on a farm (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Clotheshorses scuttle in the rain

a dripful soul of mourning

when even dreamy poet’s eye

can’t race the answers in the fog.

The moaning switch of meaning

is turned off.                 Over.

We scatter wit across parched landscape

manhandle fears into submission

and joke that pastiche amours

await behind the barbed wire.

No idea what any of that means – this is purely automatic writing when I woke up from a dream (which I can’t remember) one morning. This is my sad attempt to write and to contribute to dVerse Poets‘ Open Link Night during a week of unsatisfying work and mighty little inspiration.

49 thoughts on “A Dream of Heroes”

  1. Marina Sofia – Whether you intended it or not, I feel a real sense of being ‘hemmed in,’ rather than freed. I always get that feeling when the muse chooses to ignore me…

  2. dali said once that if he doesn’t understand his paintings it doesn’t mean that they mean anything… it’s just something that goes past our conciousness… i like..

  3. Marina, this may be stream of consciousness, but what a stream! I love the contrasts and the imagery. It’s like splashes of paint on canvas — unexpected, varied and fitting together beautifully.

  4. hey you know…if it needed to come out then let it….let each figure their own meaning in it…
    to me it is two men on the battle field….in the morning before the fighting starts watching what left of life
    even in the leaves…

  5. We scatter wit across parched landscape

    manhandle fears into submission

    and joke that pastiche amours

    await behind the barbed wire. cool that you woke up and wrote this.

  6. Like Bjorn, as I was reading I was trying to understand what you meant; then I read your comment at the bottom of the post and everything became clear. That said, you have some great images that would fit wonderfully in nonsense poetry ala Lewis Carroll (Jabberwocky) or Edward Lear (The Owl and the Pussycat). Those scuttling clothes horses have real potential … smiles.

  7. Well that explains it then ~ But then any words coming out is better than none ~ When I hit the blank wall, I end up reading poems and writing back my reaction to them to stimulate my muse ~ Have a good week ~

  8. It comes and (sometimes) goes. But even in recording that empty feeling, we can often find and artful and meaningful way of describing that emptiness. Like here, with your poem. I like it.

  9. So glad I found my way back here, Marina – and what a delicious poem. Starting, as I was reading it through gathering up favourite lines to quote back to you – but ended up with too many in my basket! So let’s just say what a very imaginative succesful and entrely delicious piece of writing… Thank you With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

Do share your thoughts!

