Asagao: Morning Glory on a Winter Night

From Chapter 20 (Asagao) of the Genji Monogatari (Seidensticker translation):

People make a great deal of the flowers of spring and the leaves of autumn, but for me a night like this, with a clear moon shining on snow, is the best – and there is not a trace of colour in it.

en.wikipedia.org
en.wikipedia.org

This inspired the following haiku, which I am linking up to Open Link Night over at the dVerse Poets Pub.

Lunar petal drift

What a brief and futile dream

Childishness of snow

30 thoughts on “Asagao: Morning Glory on a Winter Night”

    1. The Japanese always manage to convey this feeling of transience in each and every one of their poems, so I thought I’d give it a go as well. Thank you for your comment!

    1. Thank you! There was a time during my student years when I read nothing else but haiku and tanka and other Japanese poetry, so I must have absorbed it through my pores.

  1. Wow…my jaw dropped with delight! I think this is a wonderful haiku….and you have nailed the kigo, the necessary ‘apart’ of haiku, etc.

    Absolutely beautiful. I also love Japanese literature and will come back here for more suggestions to read. How wonderful you are reading so much diversified literature!

    Lady Nyo

Do share your thoughts!

