Showcase Sunday: Book Haul

Showcase Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by omnivorous book blogger Vicky at  Books, Biscuits and Tea. The aim of this event is to showcase the latest precious hoard of books we received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders this week. It’s fun to see what others are reading (or adding to their TBR pile) as well. 

While I’ve been away on business (and am about to set off again, after just 24 hours spent at home), I’ve not had the pleasure of following many of the recommended reads, nor have I ordered anything online. Good for my wallet, less good for my morale. Luckily, when I came home, a few postal deliveries were waiting for me. I can’t wait to get back home and start reading them properly!

 

AITO_CoverSummer Piere: The Artist in the Office

How to creatively survive and thrive seven days a week –  no need to tell you why I might need this book, particularly this month!

This is a humorous approach to a serious problem – and apparently also includes some serious tips, as well as fun suggestions and illustrations.

 

Naomi

 

Naomi Shihab Nye: Tender Spot (Selected Poems)

The poet who inspired me to start poetry again after a 20 year hiatus. Her poems are witty, tender, fiesty and truly global. And just look at the gorgeous blue cover!

 

 

 

 

silentmusicAdam Wyeth: Silent Music –  the debut poetry collection by an English-language poet who has settled in West Cork, in Ireland. A strong, original, quirky voice  that I am curious to find out more about, especially since Adam is my tutor on my long-distance poetry course (which I have sadly neglected for the past 2-3 weeks).

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday: Book Haul”

  1. Wow! I’m glad to have stumbled on your site. I do like reading poetry (as long as I understand it haha). I’ll be sure to check this out. Would you mind recommending a good contemporary poetry author?

    My week’s haul

    1. I think poetry is a bit hit and miss: a lot of it goes way over my head, but some of it I can really relate to. A poetry book which I really enjoyed recently was Nobel-prize-winning Polish poet Wislawa Szymborska – try ‘View with a Grain of Sand’ (selected poems).

  2. Marina Sofia – You did get some good ‘uns! I really must read the Pierre. The skill of managing creativity in an office atmosphere is an important one. Really must think about that!

    1. I hadn’t realised you were Zouxzoux – but am following all of your blogs, funnily enough! And do you know that my cat is Zozo – with a French accent?

Do share your thoughts!

