Poetry Anthology for a Great Cause

I don’t often trumpet publishing news  or ask you to buy my books (perhaps because I don’t often have anything to trumpet about!), but this book is for such a good cause that I have to share with you.

product_thumbnailOne of my poems has been included in The Wait Poetry Anthology, which is now available in paperback from Lulu. [I’ve ordered mine and it looks gorgeous – a satisfyingly chunky collection of poems.] Of course, it’s not just my poetry: you will find such a wide variety of poems, on all topics, in all styles, from writers all over the UK and the world, debutants to established poets.

All proceeds from the sale of this volume will go to Cancer Research UK. So let me tell you my very personal reason for wanting to take part in this initiative (and why I am so delighted that my poem was selected for inclusion in the anthology). It’s the same reason why I’ve done the Moonwalk in Edinburgh a few years back (fundraising for Breast Cancer Research).

My mother was diagnosed with breast cancer when she was 36 years old. It was quite advanced so she had her left breast completely removed, plus months of chemotherapy and radiotherapy to follow. It completely destroyed her looks: she was not only forever scarred physically but also never wore a swimsuit or went to the beach again. She lost her lustrous locks (she used to have hair down to her knees when she was in her teens) and had early menopause. The cancer was vanquished and she is still alive today, but the consequences of such aggressive interventions have stayed with her, resulting in all sorts of health problems.

Edwardian Rapunzel from Etsy.com. Needless to say, this is NOT my mother in her youth!
Edwardian Rapunzel from Etsy.com. Needless to say, this is NOT my mother in her youth, but close…

I know her greatest fear at the time was of leaving me motherless at such a young age, potentially at the mercy of a cruel stepmother (she was not very optimistic about my father’s choice in female companions). Yet, although I was about 7-8 years old then and an only child, I never got to feel the full impact of her illness or her terrors. I have a difficult relationship with my mother – we have very different concepts of life and people – but I will be forever grateful to her and admire her for the way she held herself and my life together at that time. Fundraising for cancer is one of the few ways in which I can show her that.

An e-book will also be available at some point, but for the time being, here is another link with information about how to purchase the book online. Dead easy.  Thank you very much… and let me know what you think of my poem and those of others!

9 thoughts on “Poetry Anthology for a Great Cause”

  1. Congratulations on your inclusion and it is indeed a worthy cause many of us understand, though maybe not from such a young age from a first relative. Thank you for sharing Marina.

  2. Marina – many, many congratulations on the inclusion of one of your poems in this anthology. How difficult it must have been for you and your mother to cope with this illness and its consequences, especially considering your respective ages at the time. Wishing you both all the very best.

  3. Always cool to see one of the dVerse pack of poets published; applause, smile. Carcinogens surround us, waiting for us to be willing hosts, lurking like blood thirsty vampires, you still have to ask them to come into your home/life before they destroy you. My mother died of uterine cancer at 39.

    1. Thank you and I mention dVerse Poets in my short bio! I didn’t know that about your mother – so sorry to hear. I think the theme of the anthology is ‘everyone knows someone’ – cancer is ruthless, all right.

Do share your thoughts!

