Preview: Quais du Polar Lyon 2015

QuaisPolar15

It’s here! My membership pack for the crime festival Quais du Polar in Lyon, taking place this year on 27-29 March, arrived today. Not that it costs anything to participate (long live la culture en France!) – but I opted to become a Club Member so that I could jump ahead of the queues at some of the most popular panels and events.

The line-up is fantastic. Can’t possibly mention all the authors taking part, but here is a selection of personal highlights from English-speaking countries: Anthony Horowitz, Denise Mina, Elizabeth George, Emily St. John Mandel, Michael Connelly, Louise Penny, Nicci French, Attica Locke, Ian Rankin, John Grisham, Tom Rob Smith.

Of the French authors, I’m looking forward to seeing Caryl Ferey, David Khara, Dominique Manotti, Elsa Marpeau, Franck Thilliez, Ian Manook, illustrator Max Cabanes, Maxime Chattam, Michel Bussi, Sylvie Granotier – and there seems to be lots of debut talent to discover, as well.

Last, but not least, there will be authors from all corners of the world, like Leonardo Padura from Cuba, Dror Mishani from Israel, Ernesto Mallo from Argentina, Gunnar Staalesen from Norway, Kishwar Desai from India, Paco Ignacio Taibo II from Mexico, Santiago Gamboa from Columbia, Paulo Lins from Brazil, Yana Vagner from Russia, Yasmina Khadra from Algeria. I have the feeling I won’t have any trouble completing the South American component of my Global Reading Challenge!

[In case you’re wondering: the postcards feature guests from previous years P.D. James, George Pelecanos, Claude Chabrol, Franck Thilliez and Tim Willocks. The membership pack also contains a book and a badge.]

 

23 thoughts on “Preview: Quais du Polar Lyon 2015”

  1. Great bunch of authors there! I wonder what attracts them to Lyon – other than the food, the wine, the ambience…

    (I may give you a note to hand to Anthony Horowitz too… 😉 )

  2. I can’t wait to be there again. I’ve seen the list of writers! fantastic. I’m going to check out this club member thing.
    Let me know if you want to have coffee somewhere while you’re in town.

  3. Anthony Horowitz…tip from ypur son, wonderful!
    Thanks for some French authors…. I will be able to combine crime fiction with my French language challenge!

    1. And I find crime fiction in French is much easier to read than ‘literary fiction’ – well, some of it at least. My vocabulary has expanded tremendously – I must know at least eight different jargon words for ‘police’.

      1. I feel the same way….after 2 years of Zola I’ve learned 8 different words for ‘rags’ and ‘rascals’!

Do share your thoughts!

