Friday Fun: Writers and their Writing Dens

A day early, but just in time to build up a little book(shelf) envy for the weekend: a peek around the studies or home libraries of famous writers. Some impress us with their tidiness…

Colson Whitehead in his study. From New York Times website.
American novelist Colson Whitehead in his study. From New York Times website.

British writer Ali Smith takes a more relaxed approach to bookshelves…

Ali Smith at home. From The New Statesman.
Ali Smith at home. From The New Statesman.

Others excel in collecting precious items not just in the kitchen, but also in their study.

Food writer Nigella Lawson at work. From Buzzfeed.
Food writer Nigella Lawson at work. From Buzzfeed.

One might expect Karl Ove Knausgård to dedicate a lot of time and thought to his books. Sure enough… and he smokes too!

Knausgaard in his studio. From The Guardian.
Knausgaard in his studio. From The Guardian.

Of course, you expect a trendy office for fashion journalist and co-founder of Clique Media, Hilary Kerr.

Hilary Kerr's office redesign. From Domaine Home.
Hilary Kerr’s office redesign. From Domaine Home.

But then again, simplicity is best. Here is Louis de Bernière’s garden shed – things don’t get much simpler than this! Proving that all you need to write is willpower.

Louis de Berniere's outdoor study. From The Guardian.
Louis de Berniere’s outdoor study. From The Guardian.

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Writers and their Writing Dens”

  1. You almost caught me out, there. I was beginning to wonder what I’d done with Thursday! Great post, as ever. Delighted not to be identifying with the fashion journalist.

    1. That’s because I had no time to write anything coherent or half-way intelligent today (nor am I organised enough to plan my posts way ahead of time), so I freed up my Friday to work on something else. Yes, not enough books in Hilary Kerr’s office, right?

  2. I do love seeing where writers write. I’ve actually been in Ali Smith’s den as she’s a friend of mine, though when I was last there, the books were about two foot lower. It’s reassuring to see others collect as fast as I do!

  3. Oh, those are all such lovely places to write!!! So warm and welcoming! And all of those books, too. I honestly would find it hard put to choose which one I like best.

    1. Seems clear to me that writers like to read – or at the very least surround themselves with favourite books. Just in case the urge to dip into something takes over…

  4. Love this! I’m always fascinated to see the tools of the writer, environment included.

    And I love the new look of the blog! Very fresh and modern.

  5. I love Ali Smith’s den! BTW, I added a picture of my own workspace on my “About” page… It looks pretty tidy from that angle but don’t be fooled…

Do share your thoughts!

