Friday Fun: Luxuries You Never Knew You Wanted

What do you get the house-owner who has everything? Well, perhaps one of life’s extra luxuries, such as one of these:

Wine bar in the living room. From Domaine Home.
Wine bar in the living room. From Domaine Home.
A slide for going downstairs. From Buzzfeed.
A slide for going downstairs. From Buzzfeed.
Roof terrace. From Decoist.
Roof terrace. From Decoist.
A modern Bridge of Sighs between the two wings of the house. From Buzzfeed.
A modern Bridge of Sighs between the two wings of the house. From Buzzfeed.
The king of all conservatories, designed by Katie Tarses, from Domaine Home.
The king of all conservatories, designed by Katie Tarses, from Domaine Home.
Floating fireplace. From Decoist.
Floating fireplace. From Decoist.

Or perhaps just that stalwart favourite: a library with a sliding ladder?

From Mocooo.com
From Mocooo.com

No, sorry, my mistake! That isn’t a luxury, that is a necessity, of course.

What would be your little (or big) home luxury, if money were no object?

 

 

26 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Luxuries You Never Knew You Wanted”

    1. Thinking how hard I find it to keep wine for the requisite 2-3 years in the unwelcoming garage, I dread to think how easy it would be to drink it all in the dining room…

  1. Absolutely, Marina Sofia, that last is an absolute necessity!! I just adore that passageway between the two wings of the house, but that wine bar is far too enticing to pass up. 🙂

  2. I’m guessing the chute down to the living room could get old pretty fast (except for the kids, of course), but the others seem more like essentials than luxuries.

    Now, first to build a second wing to the house . . .

  3. A large designer kitchen! I love to cook and bake and I have had mostly small kitchens with not enough workspace (nowhere to roll pie dough!), and inconveniently placed appliances. I am thinking a good size computer screen on a swivel arm to display recipes from the Internet would be nice as well (but something that can be elegantly concealed when you don’t need it). And a better cookbook library solution! And a wine bar!

    1. Ah, yes, I heartily concur on the kitchen front. I did once have my ideal kitchen (we rebuilt it from scratch, so had the luxury to design things exactly the way I wanted it), but then moved out of the house a year or so later.

    1. Yes, an orangerie seems like such a decadent 18th century French delight – there’s a very pretty one they’ve renovated recently at Voltaire’s chateau not far from us and they have readings and debates there occasionally. But not very many plants, unfortunately. I’m sure there were more in Voltaire’s time (he was a very keen self-taught botanist, I believe).

  4. I don’t care at all about the wine bar (yeah, I know, something must have gone wrong with my DNA, I don’t like wine) but I’d like the roof top terrace and of course, the must-have library. 🙂

    1. Oh, poor you – why the scars? (Forgive me for being nosy… or if you’ve told me before and I should know.) I have to agree with you about your own private pool: I’d love to go swimming without worrying about epilation, swimsuit fit and my own lack of swimming style.

  5. A house in the country with tall ceilings, tall bookcases filled with intersting books. multiple fireplaces, floor-to-ceiling windows, flower and veg gardens, a meadow filled with wildflowers.

    Oh, and a well-stocked wine cellar.

Do share your thoughts!

