Multiple Choices

For Open Link Night over at dVerse Poets Pub, I was inspired by this wonderful poem about Persephone by A. E. Stallings, written as a multiple choice quiz. Political indignation is all my own.

She pitches forward

  • in darkness
  • under cover
  • haunting waking hours
  • with mocking laughter

He wonders quietly

  • at her tangled shyness
  • how such a vamp could
  • where to shut her in
  • why she’s so cold

Their children hesitate

  • on brink of teendom
  • always picking the other side
  • which game to play next
  • to pick up weird vibes

We are so convinced

  • we have motley choices
  • our minds are our own
  • there is a right answer
  • we’ve the right to stun
www.thewhitepalace.com
http://www.thewhitepalace.com

Entitled in title and privileged, created in our image,

we sit back and enjoy

picking over the poor choices of others.

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “Multiple Choices”

  1. This is a delightfully unusual approach to painting your verbal picture, Marina Sofia! Really creative! A lot to think about, too, which I always appreciate in a poem. And I like the points you make at the end, too…

    1. I came across a video lecture by AE Stallings and she read out the poem I allude to above, which really startled me and awoke me to a world of possibilities, so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

  2. I like the way you have described the many choices that one has in life. Interesting to ponder the ‘right answer.’ Hopefully, we each choose the ‘right answer’ for ourselves. But a universal right answer? No, I don’t think so.

  3. what a wonderful idea – and each of us makes different choices – i often wish there would be that one right answer – reality tells it doesn’t really exist…

    1. I agree, Claudia. Only approximations of answers – and often we can’t even think of the ‘best’ answer yet, only in retrospect does it appear clearer.

  4. I enjoyed the unusual format and its thought-provoking quality. “we sit back and enjoy
    / picking over the poor choices of others.” – sadly we do far too often.

  5. Super creative, sparking all kind of poetic possibilities. Perhaps this could be a FFA or MTB prompt at dVerse; seems worthy of emulation, fun could propagate as well, or irony, or chaos.

    1. I’ll bear that in mind, Glenn. It’s a really interesting form, isn’t it, all credit to AE Stallings – and I like her not just because she lives in Greece and loves her mythology…

    1. Isn’t it a fantastic idea? I just really leapt to the chance to try it out for myself when I came across it. Perhaps we can use it as a prompt on dVerse at some point…

  6. What a cool idea! Like you, I’m much harder on myself than I am on anybody else. & you know what, I don’t think that’s a bad thing. Too much of anything is a bad thing, though, so give yourself a break from time to time. Great poem.

  7. Being able to make choices is a privilege! Making the better of other’s bad choices release the tensions of failures on oneself! Wise words Marina!

    Hank

Do share your thoughts!

