Friday Fun: Provence in the Spring

Just back from a business trip to the South of France. I didn’t have much time to stop and smell the flowers or take pictures, but I couldn’t resist a few images of sun-bathed bliss and mountainscapes along the way.

20150414_143201

 

Relais du Grand Logis, Mirabeau.
Relais du Grand Logis, Mirabeau.

The hotel where I stayed is a former coaching inn dating from the 17th century in the small village of Mirabeau on the Durance river, on the outskirts of Aix-en-Provence.

I sat and read on a bench  under the plane trees, with a waterfall sussurating in the background.
I sat and read on a bench under the plane trees, with a waterfall sussurating in the background.
Too early to use the swimming pool, but plenty of sun...
Too early to use the swimming pool, but plenty of sun…
You can walk for miles among the vineyards and hills.
You can walk for miles among the vineyards and hills.

Now I dream of returning there for a holiday… or maybe organising a writing retreat?

16 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Provence in the Spring”

    1. I discovered there is a rather nice rosé called Mirabeau, which does not, however, come from the vineyards through which I walked, but just a little bit further south of Aix en Provence. It is produced by an English couple who moved to Provence and are now selling it in the UK as well. http://www.mirabeauwine.com/

  1. *Puts hand up* If you’re putting a writing retreat together, do keep me updated! I could richly enjoy such a lovely setting, Marina Sofia! I’m so glad you shared those ‘photos. Of course, it’d be hard to concentrate on writing with all of that scenery, but still…

    1. It’s a deal! We’d have to leave a day at least for sightseeing, a trip to Aix-en-Provence or something like that, but the other days would be hard work, I promise.

  2. Lovely! I’ve been here in the south of la belle France for seven and a half years and have no desire to be anywhere else. I am at home a few hours west of Provence.

    1. Whenever I drive somewhere in France, I am stunned by the variety and beauty of the landscape – and the quality of the roads (generally). In Romania we have beautiful landscapes as well, but not the roads to match.

    1. They have a store finder on their website and I think they have a small niche market in New York and the like. But it’s only a few years old, so I don’t think they’ve had time to expand that much. And of course they still have to convince the rest of the world that rose is OK to drink, not too girly…

Do share your thoughts!

