Friday Fun: Boathouses

Seeing how popular my tiny house on the lake was last week (a.k.a boathouse) and having lived for many years near the Thames, where the boathouses were almost more beautiful than the mansions accompanying them, here are some more for you to enjoy, from all round the world.

Because, as Ratty says to Mole when they get to know each other in The Wind in the Willows:

Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing — absolutely nothing — half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.

Simply messing…about in boats — or with boats… In or out of ’em it doesn’t matter. Nothing seems to matter, that’s the charm of it. Whether you get away, or whether you don’t; whether you arrive at your destination or whether you reach somewhere else, or whether you never get anywhere at all, you’re always busy, and you never do anything in particular; and when you’ve done it there’s always something else to do, and you can do it if you like, but you’d much better not.

Boathouse on the Cliveden estate, from walkingclub.org.uk
Boathouse on the Cliveden estate, from walkingclub.org.uk
Boathouse on the Loiret river in France, from Pinterest.
Boathouse on the Loiret river in France, from Pinterest.
Boathouse in Brazil, also from Pinterest.
Boathouse in Brazil, also from Pinterest.
Boathouse on the River Thames, from thamespath.co.uk
Boathouse on the River Thames, from thamespath.co.uk
Muskoka boathouse in Canada, archdaily.ca
Muskoka boathouse in Canada, archdaily.ca
Modern circular boathouse, designrulz.com
Modern circular boathouse designed by Bercy Chen Studio, US, from designrulz.com

Finally, if you can’t decide on an exact location for your boathouse, Singapore-based architect Myitr Malcew has created a floating boathouse which you can take with you anywhere.

From minimalisti.com
From minimalisti.com

 

20 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Boathouses”

    1. Hopefully not in the Bruce Springsteen sense of the word… Wonderful song though it is!

      Now those memories come back to haunt me
      they haunt me like a curse
      Is a dream a lie if it don’t come true
      Or is it something worse
      that sends me down to the river
      though I know the river is dry
      That sends me down to the river tonight
      Down to the river
      my baby and I
      Oh down to the river we ride

    1. I did wonder about mooring charges, though? Isn’t it lovely, though, to spend Friday morning discussing the pros and cons of portable boathouses? We should start the ‘Dreamers Club’.

    1. And luckily for you, one and four are not too far away! You should walk down the Thames Path around Henley, Marlow, Cookham, Maidenhead. I used to run down that route and dream about those boathouses.

  1. Oh, these are all wonderful, Marina Sofia! Really wonderful! Somehow that Muskoka boathouse got my attention, although I love the one on the River Thames, too. Maybe I’ll split my time between them 😉

  2. Oho, Mr Litlove will love these! I especially like the floating boathouse – looks so utterly serene. And I’ve recently downloaded The Wind in the Willows from audible as I’ve never read it and thought it would be rather good to listen to. Now I have some intriging images to put to the words!

  3. Ah.. life on river.. where home and water become one..
    there is a power of water that ionizes a mind and body
    in balance more alive.. as swirling air above the dreams
    of river become us in flow again.. be the water.. float..
    in dreams come true..:)

Do share your thoughts!

