Getting to Know Each Other

It’s the 4th anniversary of dVerse Poets Pub and we’re celebrating all week. For today’s prompt, I’m using some ice-breaking tricks and techniques so all the pub goers can get to know each other a little better. The instructions were as follows:

1) Find three words that describe you well or mean a lot to you – you don’t need to explain why they mean so much to you, but they do have to be oozing with significance. For example, for me, I might choose: Vienna, swoosh and fairness.
2) Now, choose three words to describe things or people that you are grateful for, to build on the gratitude discussion we were having yesterday.
Let me again give an example: children, words, friends.
3) Now write a short poem (no longer than 12 lines please, but it can be shorter if you like) incorporating these six words.
 To my surprise (but perhaps to nobody else’s), my poem came out a tad more melancholy than I had expected…

 

Words between friends

all bridges, camp-fires, the silences still precious…

Words between children

flash-floods, fence-mends…

I’m always too late

but all heart for all that.

My quest for fairness a shade too thorough,

digging deep long after they’ve moved on.

Should I surrender to the swoosh

alone in the snow?

My sky is always cold and gray.

This means nothing to me…  Oh, Vienna!

 

Maybe this song is to blame – one of the first I remember recording from the radio.

 

38 thoughts on “Getting to Know Each Other”

  1. Ha. The cold and grey is just the sky
    and does not have to define me – who cares if you are late –
    if you bring the heart – have you played the game
    words between friends? My wife got into it for
    a bit.

  2. Wonderful, Marina. I hear Midge Ure warbling away, one of my faves. ‘Swoosh’! ‘Oh Vienna’! I shall be singing that for the rest of the evening 🙂 x

  3. There is a drop or two of melancholy here, yet hope springs eternal, & children inherit our legacy, positive or otherwise. thanks for the lovely comment over at my site; I did enjoy the prompt once I grasped the parameters. I like your lines /should I surrender to the swoosh/alone in the snow/. No, of course not, there can be acceptance without surrender, right?

    1. Actually, the swoosh in the snow is my favourite sound in the world – that silence and swooshing noise of skis on a deserted slope of freshly-fallen snow… All about the pull of togetherness but also the call of the wild…

  4. Your poem is lovely. You are lovely Marina Sofia. Thank you for this honest revelation about who you are. It’s nice to know you better. I’m late a lot too.

    1. I’m often early for appointments (because I worry so much about being late that I leave extra-early) but late for a lot of other things…
      Thank you for your visit and comment, Myrna.

  5. This is my favorite section:

    “digging deep long after they’ve moved on.
    Should I surrender to the swoosh
    alone in the snow?
    My sky is always cold and gray.”

    I too dig deep long after others have moved on. It’s kind of a curse, isn’t it? Would that we were shallow rather than excessive thinkers. 🙂

    1. That’s what I was thinking – many of the poems were not entirely surprising (I could have guessed a couple of the words), but always had a tinge of the unexpected as well. Wonderful!

    1. Art or curse of being too thorough? Difficult to tell at times. Yes, I love my swooshing through snow on skis. It’s the moment when I feel a great connection with Nature, the Universe, God and everything…

  6. Interesting to see how words can be different between friends and children ~ My sky is a bit greyish now with summer rain ~ I love the bit about the heart, who care if you are late, smiles ~ An excellent prompt, thanks ~

    1. That’s what comes of trying to write with squabbling children on holiday in the background… but, by the time I get there to ‘dispense justice’ (supposedly), they’ve made up again.

  7. What an incredible prompt and then….this poem! Yes!!!! Swoosh!!! In spite of the tinge of melancholy, a joyful laugh out loud nod to heart, surrender, joy, words between children and friends……Amazing.

    1. So glad you enjoyed the prompt, Toni. I always like to get to know people better through the prism of what is important to them (must be my anthropological training). Yes, on the whole joyous, but there is always a shade of sadness there which I can never quite shake.

  8. fairness is important for me as well and i often ponder quite a bit when people have been treated unfair… i generally ponder too much i think but i’m usually very much on time – ha… this has a melancholic undertone as well and with the heat at the moment i wouldn’t mind a bit of a snow sky… and you have me curious about the vienna story of course now…smiles

    1. Ah, I wonder if the over-pondering is a characteristic of writers and artists generally… glad you could identify with it.
      Vienna has a very simple explanation: I spent most of my childhood there and, although I’ve lived in many places before and after, that is the nearest thing to home that I have.
      Then again, that could explain my melancholy…

  9. When all health leaves..
    When all FRIENDS FADE away..
    When no more connections can be
    found.. even in a sunset storm of light..
    Then there is the word.. a friend in
    heArt.. expression of SoUl who
    has a home.. oh the gifts
    of inner PEACE.. COMES
    in WORDS of we..
    or i as ME..:)

  10. It’s only a LITTLE melancholic,and that cry at the end sounds positively joyful to me. Thank you for the prompt, a lovely idea.

  11. I totally get “my quest for fairness a shade too thorough, digging deep long after they’ve moved on.” I think there is a melancholy flavor to all introspection. When we write about ourselves, invariable there is some small amount of sorrow involved.

    I’ll see if I can try this on my blog. It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything personal. I so enjoyed reading yours.

    1. Oh I’d love to read that, please do! And I’m glad you feel the same as me, that all introspection is a bit melancholy. It’s all the possibilities discarded, the routes not taken, the skins tried and left trailing on the floor…

  12. Beautiful. My only question is, can a quest for fairness ever really be too thorough? When you have a heart like yours, I think it’s only fitting that your quest for fairness be never ending. Peace, Linda

  13. Do I remember what I wanted to say yesterday? No. But have to say I really loved that swoosh word and the many ways it can apply and be used in poetry. Thanks for planting it in my mind.

  14. I like the touch of melancholy in this, the precious silences and, “My quest for fairness a shade too thorough” is so insightful!

Do share your thoughts!

