Friday Fun: Converted Barns

Barn conversions are very popular not just in France, but all over the world. Here are some examples:

Farmhouse annexe in Switzerland.
Farmhouse annexe in Switzerland.
Typical Gessien barn, France.
Typical Gessien barn, France.
Traditional farmhouse in Ain, from Ain Tourisme.
Traditional farmhouse in Ain, from Ain Tourisme.
English barn, from Spirit Architecture.
English barn, from Spirit Architecture.
American barn with a modern twist, Pop Sugar.
American barn with a modern twist, Pop Sugar.
Traditional barn conversion, from The Telegraph.
Traditional barn conversion, from The Telegraph.
Renovated stables, from Le Bon Oeil.
Renovated stables, from Le Bon Oeil.

I can’t help hearing my grandmother’s voice, clucking somewhere above my shoulder: ‘Tsk, tsk, why would people want to live with cows and pigs?’

17 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Converted Barns”

  1. Very lovely – I think I like the renovated stable best – it somehow makes me think of renovated railway stations (which can be equally lovely!)

    1. We have a disused railway line in our area, so a fair few converted railway stations too, though most of them seem to be restaurants or other public places.

  2. You cannot a beat a beautiful converted barn. My recording studio is situated in an old barn (converted, of course) that once served as the officers’ mess for the Memphis Belle when it flew from the nearby barracks during WWII. I do love a barn with a story!

      1. Woo-hoo, well done! There’s one in my neck of the woods in the UK – Thames Valley – which is in a converted water mill. Not bad either…

  3. Oh these are lovely, Marina Sofia!! I think I’ll look into the particulars of that place in Ain. There’s a cosy mystery series by Lilian Jackson Braun in which the protagonist lives in a converted apple barn. I’ve always wondered what that might be like.

  4. Beautiful renovations, though I especially love your grandmother’s approximation of the situation!

    1. Although apparently the converting process can be quite complicated. I’ve seen some examples where it didn’t look at all like a barn anymore, all small narrow rooms with low ceilings – what’s the point?

  5. The stables look nice! A couple of them really look ‘too’ converted for my taste – the American and English ones. I guess if I wanted to live in a barn, I’d prefer it to look … er… barny!

Do share your thoughts!

