We Work, We Write… And Rinse, Repeat!

Life is a house of cards. Complex and fragile, it sometimes just comes fluttering down or else you strike it with Alice-like overwhelm morphed into sour temper.

Yet at other times, the weariness is forgotten and everything seems possible. Surprisingly, Beijing (with its loud, crazy traffic and humorous, hard-working and openly curious people) had that effect on me.

Vertigo over Beijing traffic (in its calmest moments).
Vertigo over Beijing traffic (in its calmest moments).
The masters of pointless walls, which never really kept out invaders.
The masters of pointless walls, which never really kept out invaders.
Pomp and grandeur of past and present...
Pomp and grandeur of past and present…
... but it's the energy, good humour and willingness to learn of its people that I really admire.
… but it’s the energy, good humour and willingness to learn of its young people that I really admire.

I felt I could come home and tackle the long, long list of household, administrative, professional and creative tasks that I have set myself. Not just yet, though. Today I will take time to recover from jetlag and catch up with emails and blog posts. Otherwise, I may end up falling asleep just about anywhere, as is often the case in hard-working China.

P1030578

It’s not quite Friday yet, but this may well be my Friday Fun contribution for this week, as I start to get up to speed again with all of my work. Lots of reviews coming up too!

Oh, and just a whiff of Beijing smog to spoil the air on my last day there…

P1030607

11 thoughts on “We Work, We Write… And Rinse, Repeat!”

  1. So glad you’re safely back, Marina Sofia. And thanks for those lovely ‘photos!! Wow! I know all about those times when you feel drained, only to find that your ‘batteries’ have been replenished. Put it in the emotional bank for those times when you need that inspiration again.

  2. Your pictures made me all nostalgic of my old Beijing life… One thing I don’t miss is the smog indeed. I’m glad that China had this energetic effect on you, please keep us posted!

    1. Lucky you! It’s an amazing place – although I’m not sure I would find it easy to live there for longer than a couple of months. The amount of commuting involved was just unbelievable (as was the traffic)!

Do share your thoughts!

