Friday Fun: Amazing Writing Spaces

For those of you attempting NaNoWriMo, or even for those who aren’t but just feel the need for a quiet space to hear one’s self think, here are some of my favourite writing nooks. Hope a few of them will become your favourites too…

The garden shed revamped, from Flavorwire.com
The garden shed revamped, from Flavorwire.com
Rooftop study, from BWA Architects.
Rooftop study, from BWA Architects.
The effortlessly moneyed look, from Coastal Living.
The effortlessly moneyed look, from Coastal Living.
Simple and uncluttered - the achievable? From Cozyhomeoffice.com
Simple and uncluttered – the achievable? From Cozyhomeoffice.com
The escapist lodge for nature lovers in Hawaii, from Architectural Digest.
The escapist lodge for nature lovers in Hawaii, from Architectural Digest.
The one with the amazing views, from Decoist.
The one with the amazing views, from Decoist.
Rural simplicity with sheep, from paulsmith.co.uk
Rural simplicity with sheep, from paulsmith.co.uk

Incidentally, this is my 700th blog post. When I started back in February (really, in March) 2012, I was planning to post frequently merely to keep myself in a writing disposition, to feel that I had written something every day, even if only a blog post.  I wasn’t expecting anyone to read me – and to this day, the people who know me in real life seldom do. But thank you to all you wonderful online readers and friends that I’ve made over the course of 700 posts! Some were silly, some were funny, others were overly long, a few were quite OK and some took far too much effort… The posts I mean, what did you think?

25 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Amazing Writing Spaces”

    1. While I like my reading spaces cosy and old-fashioned, I have to admit I prefer the very sleek and minimalist spaces for writing – no distractions! But a good view always helps… for those ‘staring into blank space and thinking profoundly’ moments.

  1. Congrats on your 700th! I love these writing spaces! I’d personally go for the effortlessly moneyed one, but I’m sure it would take a lot of effort and money… As for your posts, I’m really impressed that you post so regularly and with a large variety of styles and topics.

    1. Everything that looks effortless requires a lot of hidden work, right, especially in writing? Thank you for your kind thoughts – I find blogging keeps me writing even when I don’t really have time to write…

  2. Wow.. 700 posts! Congratulations and er, RESPECT! I’ve only been popping in for this last year but I love your space… always a good mix of reviews & articles and of course your poetry… have to say look forward to Friday Fun to help fuel the escapism daydreams… I certainly appreciate the time you take to share & entertain Marina 😀

    Today I’m with Jacqui – number 3 – looks the ‘brightest’ the rest feel a tad humid … and as we’ve been stuck in Scotch Mist for over a week I’m desperarte for a bit of blue sky.

    1. You are too kind – and probably the blog does take up too much of my time, but I find that it’s frequently the only kind of writing that I can do in the ‘confetti moments’ that I am given throughout the day when I am not busy doing other things.

  3. Congrats on all those posts -well done! Those writing spaces are lovely – I think the Hawaiian one is fab!

  4. Congratulations on 700 posts, Marina Sofia! That’s fabulous! Looking forward to many, many more. And thanks for sharing these lovely writing spaces. That rooftop study would be my choice…

  5. Sheep, give me sheep and half a shed! I adore sheep, they always make me laugh, as they sound like they are trying out sheep impressions.

    More importantly 700 congratulations are in order!

    1. I’m rather taken with that rural shed myself – although here we tend to see more cows than sheep. We live close to Voltaire’s manor house there and there are always sheep on the grounds – we call them Voltaire’s baaaaas.

  6. It’d be the top garden shed for me this week – the ones with fab views would be great but would distract me too much. Congrats on becoming 700 – I had no idea you were that age! You wear it well…

Do share your thoughts!

