Friday Fun: Hampstead Houses

A few months after I came to London to study, I moved in with my unforgettable Jewish landlady in Golders Green. I would go for long walks in Hampstead Heath and admire all the houses there. This is my favourite part of London: completely unaffordable, of course, to ordinary mortals!

Some are facing a sad decline, such as Athlone House, from hampsteadheath.net
Some are facing a sad decline, such as Athlone House, from hampsteadheath.net
Inverforth House has been converted into flats, each one for sale at around 5 million pounds. From rightmove.co.uk
Inverforth House has been converted into flats, each one for sale at around 5 million pounds. From rightmove.co.uk
Jersey House has been shown on ITV as one of a recent spate of house builds on Millionaires' Row in Hampstead, from itv.com
Jersey House has been shown on ITV as one of a recent spate of house builds on Millionaires’ Row in Hampstead, from itv.com
This does smack a little of excess, don't you think? From besthomedesign.co.uk
This does smack a little of excess, don’t you think? From besthomedesign.co.uk
I prefer the more traditional houses of an older era. Burgh House, from richardpgibbs.org
I prefer the more traditional houses of an older era. Burgh House, from richardpgibbs.org
Or the simple grace of Keats' house. From geograph.co.uk
Or the simple grace of Keats’ house. From geograph.co.uk
Not to mention the glory of Kenwood House, with its rhododendrons and commanding views over London. From telegraph.co.uk
Not to mention the glory of Kenwood House, with its rhododendrons and commanding views over London. From telegraph.co.uk
And if I were to go for new-build, I would prefer this modern creation by Stanton Williams, from wallpaper.com
And if I were to go for new-build, I would prefer this modern creation by Stanton Williams Architects, from wallpaper.com

The TV adaptation of Capital by John Lanchester does not refer to quite so posh an area (it’s set in Clapham, more of a mixed area, although ‘up and coming’) but it did get me thinking of those dratted London property prices.

 

 

35 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Hampstead Houses”

  1. My father was born in Golders Green where many Jewish families moved to from the East End of London. Those houses are amazing – I quite fancy Burgh House, it looks like there would be room for a library!

    1. I love how we get to hear snippets from your lives through these pictures… I loved living in Golders Green, although it did mean that on Saturday morning I often got called into houses to switch on the lights or such like.

      1. I was just about to ask if you’d ever been to one of their open-air concerts. I went there a few times as a student with a girlfriend. Of course, we had no money for the strawberries and cream and champagne enjoyed by the hoity-toities. 🙂

  2. Some beautiful houses. It’s such a shame about Athlone House. I just wonder how many that could house if they were to renovate it. My favourite is Burgh House.

    1. I think there are planning permission issues with Athlone House – the current owners wanted to tear it down and build from scratch. It was previously a hospital (rehabilitation unit) and part of its annexes have been torn down and had luxury flats built instead.

  3. Echoing Helen and Jacqui with memories of Hampstead walks followed by tea at the Milk Churn. Not sure if that’s still up and running – we’re talking a couple of decades ago! I’d plump for the last one so we’re in for a bit of a tussle unless you’re happy to have me as a lodger.

    1. As long as you bring plenty of books with you, I don’t mind having you as a lodger! Although I have to admit I like the more traditional ones like the Keats House and Burgh House more.

  4. I’m actually quite taken with the besthomedesign ‘excessive’ one… not so much on a materialistic front but the idea of an open, light & airy home… although would need gallons of windolene each month 😄

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever been to Hampstead. Can’t imagine they’d let me in with my accent but I’m enamoured with the fourth one – all those windows! All that light! Husband would probably hate it, he can have the trad one next door!

  6. I can certainly see why you enjoyed this walk so much, Marina Sofia! What a beautiful place. Now for me, the choice would be Keats’ house. The rest, though, are also amazing.

  7. What a shame about Athlone House – I think it’s my favourite this week. When I become a billionaire (which surely must happen soon), I shall restore it to its former glory…

  8. Thanks for that treat! I don’t know London at all… I’ve only done a tourist bus visit of Central London, plus some quick runs between train stations to go other places (St. Pancras to catch trains to Leicester!).

  9. I like simple and low-key, so I vote for Keats’ house. All those huge mansions would still have me living in a few rooms, rattling around the unused rest of the buildings.
    There’s nothing like this in New York City.

  10. I had no idea Hamstead Heath was large enough to accommodate these enormous properties! I like Burgh House, too, more reasonable as a place where people could actually live. The first one is sad, though. That’s quite the renovation project for someone!

Do share your thoughts!

