Friday Fun: Abandoned Places

January and its sunless days are taking their toll on me, so after cemeteries I now offer you ruins and abandonment. Picturesque, of course! Cheerful? Well, you decide…

Abkhazia, Georgia. From lifestyle.allwomenstalk.com
Abkhazia, Georgia. From vmulder.livejournal.com
Beelitz Hospital near Berlin, from 28dayslater.co.uk
Beelitz Hospital near Berlin, from 28dayslater.co.uk
Chateau de Carnelle, from reddit.
Chateau de Carnelle, from reddit.
Another French chateau, from a website dedicated to ruins www.bcd-urbex.com
Another French chateau, from a website dedicated to ruins http://www.bcd-urbex.com
Wooden house in Oblast, Russia, from russiatrek.org
Wooden house in Oblast, Russia, from russiatrek.org
The sand-covered town of Kolmanskop in Namibia. From National Geographic website.
The sand-covered town of Kolmanskop in Namibia. From National Geographic website.

Sic transit gloria mundi, as Mary Beard might say.

28 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Abandoned Places”

    1. It does have a very painterly quality – there are other pictures of the houses half-buried in sand from the outside, but this one really captured my artistic spirit.

  1. I know what you mean about the sunless days. My lightbox has arrived and I’m using it daily. Do you have one? I like the second chateau. I’d love a place like that to roam about it. Only if I had a cleaner of course. And it wasn’t a ruin!

    1. I do have a lightbox too, hurrah for that! And the romanticism of ruins can’t be denied – I keep dreaming of renovating such a pile, but of course have neither the money nor the DIY skills to undertake such an adventure!

  2. I love that gorgeous Namibian light so it has to be the last one for me. We had two brief days of sunshine this week which I think I may have to live off for the next few months. Now back to gloom.

    1. As it happens, today we have sunshine, as if to prove me wrong! But I’m sure it won’t last long. The contrast between the yellow and blue is so gorgeous, isn’t it, reminds me of a Van Gogh painting!

    1. I found a whole archive of pictures dedicated to that hospital and it is stunning. Such a shame it probably costs more to renovate or tear down than to just let it quietly rot away…

  3. I love abandoned buildings; imagining what went on there and how it came to be abandoned, and of course wishing I could restore one and live in it (better yet, all of them!).

    1. There are a number of buildings falling into ruins all over Romania and Greece at present, usually because of some inheritance dispute, and my heart aches when I see them…

Do share your thoughts!

