Friday Fun: The Teen Bedroom I Wish I’d Had

Have you ever noticed how pathetically floral and pastel teenage girls’ bedrooms are? What I would have liked as a teen (and what I still like in a bedroom) was a cave-like atmosphere, with plenty of room for books, and a hankering for exploration and dreaming.

Sporty but nice, from Decoist.com
Sporty but nice, from Decoist.com
Bunkbeads have always been a secret dream of mine, from pinterest.com
Bunkbeds have always been a secret dream of mine, from pinterest.com
For the Indian Jones at heart, from pinterest.com
For the Indian Jones at heart, from pinterest.com
Perfect place to read, from bedroomdesigncatalog.com
Perfect place to read, from bedroomdesigncatalog.com
Hidden storage ahoy, from mediabookbub.com
Hidden storage ahoy, from mediabookbub.com

But if I were to go with the truly grandiose, I would have liked to have a room in a tower, a whole floor to myself. Below is just a small part of the ideal…

Reading in the round, from Domaine.com
Reading in the round, from Domaine.com
21 thoughts on “Friday Fun: The Teen Bedroom I Wish I’d Had”

  1. This made me laugh because as lovely as all those rooms are, all I wanted to do when I was a teen was paint my room black (I wasn’t allowed), light candles and listen to Nick Cave/Garbage/Nirvana.

    1. I would wear a lot of black and blue as a teen, but I wasn’t allowed to paint my room even in blue (apparently, it makes the room feel colder). So it was pink! An insult to everything I stood for.

  2. I love pic 3 and pic 4. My bedroom as a teen was pretty boring. My mom wouldn’t let me put posters on my walls because we had wallpaper (it was an ooold house), or have other fun teen stuff in there. I would have loved a huge world map on one wall and books lining another wall. That would have been very cool.

  3. The last one seems to, er, lack a bed.

    Me, I’d go for #5, although how the drawer manages to be about 50% deeper than the bed is wide is anybody’s guess.

  4. I love your choices! And I too am passionately opposed to pink fluffy girls’ bedrooms. My teen bedroom was shades of yellow and orange – a bit garish maybe, but at least not pink.

Do share your thoughts!

