Friday Fun: Chateaux with Vineyards

My lifelong dream was to own a chateau with a magnificent view and a vineyard, where I could write (of course) but also run my training courses and serve my wine to a captive audience. Here are some chateaux which come close to my high demands.

Chateau Allaman in Canton Vaud, from liens-du-vin.ch
Chateau Allaman in Canton Vaud, from liens-du-vin.ch
Chateau Barbeyrolles, near Saint Tropez. From barbeyrolles.com
Chateau Barbeyrolles, near Saint Tropez. From barbeyrolles.com
Chateau Bizanos in the Pyrenees-Atlantiques, from communes.com
Chateau Bizanos in the Pyrenees-Atlantiques, from communes.com
Chateau de la Mission, Haut-Brion, from avis-vin.lefigaro.fr
Chateau de la Mission, Haut-Brion, from avis-vin.lefigaro.fr
Chateau Lonay near Lausanne, from morges-tourisme.ch
Chateau Lonay near Lausanne, from morges-tourisme.ch
Chateau Maison Blanche, from liens-du-vin.ch
Chateau Maison Blanche, from liens-du-vin.ch

A few beehives would also not come amiss! Where did you dream of living when you were a child?

19 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Chateaux with Vineyards”

  1. I always wanted to live in a windmill with especially designed bookshelves to go around the odd-shaped walls – that desire has been tempered by the thought of all the stairs I’d have to climb every day, but not gone away completely!

  2. No. 2 for me – lovely! I always liked the idea of an abandoned old fashioned railway station or a deconsecrated church – maybe I was looking for ghosts…

  3. Oh, these are gorgeous, Marina Sofia!! I’m especially drawn to Chateau Lonay; it’s just so beautiful! And I can completely see you owning such a place, stunning your guests with delicious wine, and, of course, writing.

  4. Chateay Maison Blanche for me this week! I too dreamed of a chateau or castle as a child, but I fear I also dreamed of a life of luxurious idleness and servants. Your dream seems marginally more achievable…

  5. These are all gorgeous. I always longed for an A-frame log home with a loft and a sun roof and a spiral stair case. Not very practical at this stage of my life, but a nice dream anyway.

    1. I have a soft spot for mountain huts and chalets too – just think of the views! And don’t think of getting snowed in and having no internet or phone reception, trouble with electricity etc.

  6. I dreamed of living in the city and now I do! Now, I dream of Italy in the Lake Cuomo region and New Zealand and Sweden. But, realistically, I know the short Swedish days would do me in. lol

Do share your thoughts!

